Stuart Brubaker Impressive in Engine Pro SOD by ARP Win at Winston Speedway


Todd Meyer winner

2nd Brian Smith, winner Stuart Brubaker with daughter Grace, 3rd Gregg Dalman
(Trailsendcustom Photo)


Fremont, Ohio’s Stuart Brubaker charged to a crowd-pleasing Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP feature win Friday night at Winston Speedway in Rothbury, Michigan.

Gregg Dalman grabbed the lead at the start from the pole with Brett Mann looking like he may have something for the leader.  Dalman started to pull away as Mann slipped high on turn 2 allowing Chris Pobanz to take 2nd and Stuart Brubaker 3rd.  Dalman looked to be the class until John Gall & Jay Steinebach tangled on lap four with Gall flipping.  Neither driver was able to continue.

After the red, Dalman continued to lead, but it soon became evident that the handle was going away on Dalman’s car and after a back and forth battle, Brubaker got by Dalman as he slid high in turn two.  Brubaker was an expert at negotiating traffic on the slick surface and easily held on for the win.  After the 4th lap red, the feature went nonstop and point leader Brian Smith was turning faster laps than the leader at the end, but it was too little, too late.

Smith (Fremont, Ohio), the current SOD point leader, started the feature in eleventh place after not making the feature nine-car draw for the top starting positions.  Smith was the KSE Hard Charger Award winner.  Dalman held on to finish third, and discovered that a tire pressure bleeder had stuck open causing his handling problem.  Brett Mann, driving Tony Bures’ #58 finished 4th, and Mark Aldrich was 5th.

Engine Pro SOD by ARP Feature

Finish Car # Driver Start Awards Contingencies
1 35 Stuart Brubaker 3 Rod End Supply
2 2+ Brian Smith 11 KSE Hard Charger Rod End Supply
3 49T Gregg Dalman 1 Rod End Supply
4 58 Brett Mann 5 Ti22 Draw Winner Racing Optics
5 1A Mark Aldrich 8 ATL Racing Fuel Cells
6 89 Chris Pobanz 2 Engine Pro Lucky Dog King Racing Products
7 46 Robert Huiskin 4
8 7 Shawn Valenti 12
9 0 Steve Irwin 9
10 41 Thomas Schinderle 16
11 71H/27 Brad Lamberson 7
12 4T Josh Turner 6
13 8 Justin Ward 10
14 27x Jared Lamberson 14
15 91L Lexi Adgate 18 DMI Draw Winner
16 1 Eric Smith 19
17 6 Tyler Beardon 17
18 10S Jay Steinebach 13
19 81 John Gall 15


Engler Machine & Tool Heat Winner  – Brett Mann
58, 89, 0, 8, 10s, 41, 24

Lane Automotive Heat Winner – Mark Aldrich
1a, 4t, 46, 2+, 27x, 6

COMP Cams Heat Winner – Gregg Dalman
49t, 35, 27, 7, 81, 91L

Kistler Racing Products Contingencies – Chris Pobanz, Stuart Brubaker
BR Motorsports Contingency – Steve Irwin
COMP Cams Contingency – Josh Turner
Allstar Performance Contingency – Robert Huiskins
Schoenfeld Headers Contingency – Brad Lamberson

For more information about Engine Pro, go to  For more information about ARP, go to  The full 2016 Sprints on Dirt schedule, rules, driver member form, news, and other information can be read at

Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP is brought to you by many important sponsor partners including: Engine Pro (Title Sponsor), ARP (Title Sponsor), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official SOD Tire), MAHLE/Clevite (Beyond Limits Challenge Sponsor), Engine Pro (Lucky Dog Sponsor), Lane Automotive (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), Engler Machine & Tool (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), COMP Cams (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), (SOD Series Rookie of the Year Sponsor & SOD Sprint Car Rookie of the Year Sponsor), XYZ Machining (Sportsman of the Year Sponsor & Crew Chief of the Year Sponsor), KSE Racing Products (Hard Charger Sponsor).  In addition, SOD contingency sponsors include: ATL Racing Fuel Cells, Kistler Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Schoenfeld Headers, K2W Precision/Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Ti22 Performance, BR Motorsports, King Racing Products, License 2 Play, Simpson Racing Products, Rod End Supply, Diversified Machine Inc. (DMI), Racing Optics.