Subscribe to RSS Feed

Author Archive


MICHIGAN CENTER, MI (November 3, 2020) – As Sprints On Dirt starts planning its forty-second season, we kick things off by announcing the traditional opening date at legendary Ron Flinn’s Crystal Motor Speedway on April 24th. Crystal is where it all started in 1980 and has hosted SOD every year since then.

SOD owners Denny Donaldson and Bob and Karen Garrett will utilize the “Beyond Limits” format successfully implemented in 2016.  There will be only a few minor rule changes and the SOD rule book will be released soon.

In 2018, SOD’s “Beyond Limits” format proved itself with Zane DeVault winning with a 360 engine over Blonde with a 410 and Matt Foos running a 305. In 2019, Ryan Ruhl won over Chad Blonde, and Zane DeVault.

The 2021 Sprints On Dirt schedule, rule book, and other information will be released in upcoming announcements.

For more information about Crystal Motor Speedway, go to  Go to its Facebook page at

Follow Sprints On Dirt on its Facebook page at and on its website at You can contact SOD by calling or texting (517) 206-0530 or emailing

Continue Reading »
No Comments
Butler Motor Speedway’s Denny Donaldson presents the NEFCO awards to Gary Fritts

Gary Fritts was the highest finishing 360 in Saturday’s John C. Reeve Memorial Race with the return of Sprints On Dirt. He was awarded a neat custom plaque and check compliments of NEFCO.

On behalf of everyone involved with SOD, we thank NEFCO, a welding supply and custom fabrication shop located in Jonesville, Michigan, for its support. Check out NEFCO at

Continue Reading »
No Comments No Comments 2 Comments

July 10, 2020 by

ERIE, MICHIGAN (July 10, 2020) – Just as the legendary Phoenix rose from the ashes, Sprints On Dirt is poised to do the same. Denny Donaldson with Bob and Karen Garrett have partnered to acquire Sprints On Dirt. They are already partners in Butler Motor Speedway. The long-time supporters of Sprints On Dirt are determined to help sprint car racing thrive in Michigan, not only with their weekly sprint program, but with the opportunity for racers and fans to enjoy SOD’s “beyond limits” traveling series in their area.

Denny Donaldson followed in the footsteps of his very successful father Ralph into racing, winning six Butler championships in three different divisions. Both Ralph and Denny are members of the Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame.

Bob Garrett is also a 2nd generation driver, picking up seven track championships. As if that isn’t enough, Garrett also has over thirty-five championships as a car owner. His teams are still winning today.

Butler and SOD have worked towards common rules for the benefit of sprint car racing in Michigan. The new acquisition will make the cooperative efforts even more beneficial for Michigan racers. The partners have a strong drive to keep sprint car racing in Michigan alive and well.

Communication has begun with promoters and potential marketing partners in preparation for the 2021 season. SOD’s prominence in Michigan sprint car racing took a nose dive in 2019, but is emerging from its near-death experience like the Phoenix and will be stronger, smarter and more powerful.

While the Covid-19 pandemic has been devastating for racing in general, there is a silver lining for Sprints On Dirt. Speedways and organizations have struggled to finalize schedules, but since SOD’s plans were to sit out 2020 anyway, it has given SOD more time to finalize its plans. Sprints On Dirt will return to its values that made it so successful before.

Sprints On Dirt contact information:




Continue Reading »
No Comments

Stay in Tune


    Follow Me on Twitter!