Mann Up on ASCS Sprints on Dirt at Owendale!


From Mike Strevel

OWENDALE, Mich. (July 9, 2011) – On a hot Saturday evening at Owendale Speedway, Brett Mann took the checkered flag for the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP main event at the racy 1/4 mile oval.

A nice field of 15 winged sprint cars made the first of two appearances for the 2011 season at the fast Michigan oval.

Mann, from Goshen, IN, started outside front row and lead all 25 laps of the main event. There were only a couple of yellow flags including one involving pole sitter Davey Brown half-way through the main event. An incredible battle developed late in the race when Dustin Daggett made several attempts to pass Mann, only to have each attempt halted by excellent defensive driving by the feature winner. The veteran racer was able to capture the $1,200 first prize in exciting fashion after those challenges.

“It’s great coming here and putting on a show for these great fans,” Mann commented. “It feels great to get back into victory lane.”

The winner of the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP feature thanked his fine sponsors including Biobased US, car owners Don and SueEllen Wilshe, Hoosier Tire and Lane Automotive.

The top ten finishers of the exciting feature race for the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP were Mann, Daggett, Dain Naida, Gary Fast, Andy Chehowski, Robert Huisken, Chris Pobanz, Kirk Cheney, Jim Goetgeluck and Marques Huffer.

Heat race wins were captured by Daggett and Mann. The fast car dash went to Matt Lumbert.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Results-
Saturday July 9, 2011
Owendale Speedway, Owendale MI
Car Count (15)

Heat Races (Top 16 in passing points transfer to the “A” Feature)

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 laps): 1. 2m Dustin Daggett, 2. 07x Dain Naida, 3. 55 Kirk Cheney, 4. 89 Chris Pobanz, 5. 21 Matt Lumbert, 6. 22t Tank Brakenberry, 7. 29s Marques Huffer 8. 20a Andy Chehowski.

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 19s Brett Mann, 2.14 Gary Fast, 3. 46 Robert Huisken, 4. 10 Davey Brown, 5. 41 Jim Goetgeluck, 6. 70 Jim Lingar, 7. 2t Ralph Brakenberry.

Gaerte Engines Fast Car Dash (4 Laps): 1. 21 Matt Lumbert, 2. 22t Tank Brakenberry, 3. 2t Ralph Brakenberry, 4. 70 Jim Lingar

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP “A” Feature

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 19s Brett Mann 2. 2m Dustin Daggett, 3. 07x Dain Naida, 4. 14 Gary Fast, 5. 20a Andy Chehowski, 6. 46 Robert Huisken, 7. 89 Chris Pobanz, 8. 55 Kirk Chaney, 9. 41 Jim Goetgeluck, 10. 29s Marques Huffer, 11. 70 Jim Lingar 12. 22t Tank Brakenberry, 13. 21 Matt Lumbert, 14. 2t Ralph Brakenberry, 15. 10 Davey Brown.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Points (Top Ten): 1. Dustin Daggett 1,112, 2. Ryan Grubaugh 746, 3. Brett Mann 736, 4. Robert Huisken 735, 5. Davey Brown 666, 6. Jim Lingar 640, 7. Matt Lumbert 634, 8. Joe Bares 611, 9. Kirk Cheney 547, 10. Marques Huffer 546.