ASCS Sprints on Dirt Set for Crystal on Saturday!


By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (July 11, 2011) – Action continues for the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP as the series moves on to the semi-banked, 3/8-mile Crystal Motor Speedway in Crystal, MI, this Saturday night.

A regular fixture on the SOD trail since 1980, Saturday marks the second of three series events at Crystal Motor Speedway in 2011.

Dustin Daggett kicked off the 2011 ASCS SOD season with his ninth consecutive Crystal triumph, extending his run of Crystal mastery to 11 wins in the last 13 Crystal events.

Daggett has since added three more series wins to amass a hefty 366 point lead over defending series champion Ryan Grubaugh, who picked off a win at Cherry Raceway on June 17.

Daggett added his fourth win of the year and 80th of his SOD career this past Friday night at Mount Pleasant before two-time series champ Brett Mann beat Daggett to the line Saturday night at Owendale.

While Daggett holds the current points lead over Grubaugh, the rest of the top ten includes Brett Mann, Robert Huisken, Davey Brown, Jim Lingar, Matt Lumbert, Joe Bares, Kirk Cheney and Marques Huffer.

Saturday’s action at Crystal Motor Speedway is set to get under way at 7:30 p.m.

Crystal Motor Speedway is located in Crystal, MI, 5.5 miles north of SR 57 on Crystal Road, then east on Sidney. For more information, contact the track at 989-235-5200.

The Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP is in its 32nd season of competition. Twenty-seven races are on the calendar scheduled at 13 different tracks throughout Michigan, Ohio and Ontario.

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at