Daggett Takes ASCS SOD Prize at Mount Pleasant


From Mike Strevel

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. (July 8, 2011) – On a beautiful Friday evening at Mt. Pleasant Speedway, Dustin Daggett took the checkered flag in front of a standing room only crowd for the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP main event at the exciting 3/8 mile oval.

An excellent field of 23 winged sprint cars made the only appearance for the 2011 season at the fast northern Michigan oval for the Renegade Race Fuels sponsored event.

Daggett of Portland, MI, started in seventh position for the twenty five lap main event. There were several yellow flags in the main event including one on lap 17 for leader at that time Ryan Grubaugh which eliminated him from the feature.

An incredible battle had developed mid-race when 2010 champion Ryan Grubaugh was challenged by Daggett. After Grubaugh’s incident it was all Daggett with Mackey trying to make runs at the eventual winner but to no avail. Several battles developed throughout the field with Ken Mackey, Joe Bares, Ryan Ruhl and Andy Teunessen all fighting for positions in the later stages of the feature.

Daggett stated, “It’s great coming up here and putting on a show for these great fans.” The winner of the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP feature thanked his fine sponsors including Miles Petroleum, Sweet Manufacturing, Glen’s Gas & Welding, Steve Winnie Auto Sales and Richardson Farms.

The top five finishers of the exciting feature race for the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP were Dustin Daggett, Ken Mackey, Ryan Ruhl, Josh Turner and Andy Teunessen.

Heat race wins were captured by Ryan Grubaugh, Josh Turner and Ryan Ruhl. The fast car dash went to Joe Bares.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Results-
Friday July 8, 2011
Mt Pleasant Speedway, Mt Pleasant MI

Heat Races (Top 16 in passing points transfer to the “A” Feature)

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 laps): 1. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 2. 10 Davey Brown, 3. 21t Troy Chehowski, 4. 31 Andy Teunessen, 5. 14 Gary Fast, 6. 70 Jim Lingar, 7. 2t Ralph Brakenberry, 8. 89 Chris Pobanz.

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 4 Josh Turner, 2. 55 Kirk Cheney, 3. 22 Ben Rutan, 4. 91 Joe Bares, 5. 19 Brett Mann, 6. 61x Don Smith, 7. 20a Andy Chehowski, 8. 22t Tank Brakenberry.

ARP Fasteners Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 3w Ryan Ruhl, 2. 2m Dustin Daggett, 3. 25m Ken Mackey, 4. 88 Mike Daggett, 5. 73 Dusty Shriver, 6. 29s Marques Huffer, 7. 21 Matt Lumbert.

Gaerte Engines Fast Car Dash (4 Laps): 1. 91 Joe Bares, 2. 22 Ben Rutan, 3. 21t Troy Chehowski, 4. 19 Brett Mann.

B-Main (top 4 transfer)
1. 70 Jim Lingar, 2. 61x Don Smith, 3. 2t Ralph Brakenberry, 4. 21 Matt Lumbert, 5. 29s Marques Huffer, 6. 22t Tank Brakenberry, 7. 89 Chris Pobanz.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP “A” Feature

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2m Dustin Daggett, 2. 25m Ken Mackey, 3. 3w Ryan Ruhl, 4. 4 Josh Turner, 5. 31 Andy Teunessen, 6. 91 Joe Bares, 7. 10 Davey Brown, 8. 88 Mike Daggett, 9. 55 Kirk Cheney, 10. 20a Andy Chehowski, 11. 73 Dusty Shriver, 12. 14 Gary Fast, 13. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 14. 21 Matt Lumbert, 15. 22 Ben Rutan, 16. 21t Troy Chehowski, 17. 70 Jim Lingar, 18. 2t Ralph Brakenberry, 19. 19 Brett Mann, 20. 61x Don Smith.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Points (Top Ten): 1. Dustin Daggett 970, 2. Ryan Grubaugh 746, 3. Robert Huisken 613, 4. Joe Bares 611, 5. Brett Mann 586, 6. Davey Brown 566, 7. Jim Lingar 532, 8. Matt Lumbert 530, 9. Jared Horstman 510, 10. Ryan Ruhl 496.