Chad Blonde Battles to Hartford Engine Pro SOD by ARP MAHLE/Clevite Beyond Limits Challenge Win



Chad and Sean        Blonde 2 Hartford 15 smaller

ERIE, MI (September 5, 2016) – Veteran Michigan sprint car star Chad Blonde drove his Sean Robinson owned 5B to victory from his 8th place starting position over 10th place starter Ryan Ruhl and 9th place starter Steve Irwin to win the Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP MAHLE/Clevite Beyond Limits Challenge feature at Hartford Speedway last night.  The huge crowd saw a wild show with great racing on the 2016 Sprint On Dirt spec tire from Hoosier Racing Tire.

Linden Jones and John Gall led the start of the 20-lap feature with Gall jumping into the lead for the first 2 laps before Jones took over for laps 3-4.  On lap 4, SOD points leader Brian Smith escaped disaster when Joe Swanson climbed up his left rear going into turn one bringing out the race’s only caution. Both cars sustained damage, but restarted after repairs in the pits.  Early leaders John Gall, Linden Jones, and Mark Aldrich, as well as SOD Hartford May winner Ryan Ruhl proved to be no match for Blonde who drove away and finished with a commanding lead over Ryan Ruhl and Steve Irwin.  Blonde’s victory was his first appearance with SOD in several years, and he found the highly-acclaimed 2016 SOD spec Hoosier tires to his liking.

Robert Bulloch suffered a mechanical failure in his Kirkendall 7K that sent him hard into the water barrels in turn four in the first heat.  His car was launched high into the air upon impact and although the car was destroyed, Bulloch was eventually cleared by the track medical crew.  The proper installation of the car’s seat and belts prevented potentially serious injuries in this high-speed, heavy-impact crash.

ARP MAHLE/Clevite Beyond Limits Challenge Feature

  # Driver Awards Contingencies
1 5B Chad Blonde   Rod End Supply
2 16 Ryan Ruhl KSE Hard Charger Rod End Supply
3 0 Steve Irwin   Rod End Supply
4 1A Mark Aldrich   Racing Optics
5 7 Joe Swanson   ATL Racing Fuel Cells
6 19J Linden Jones   King Racing Products
7 10S Jay Steinebach Ti22 Draw Winner  
8 4T Josh Turner    
9 2+ Brian Smith    
10 46 Robert Huisken    
11 81 John Gall DMI Draw Winner  
12 27K Ryan Kirkendall Engine Pro Lucky Dog  
13 1 Eric Smith    
14 8 Justin Ward    
15 57 Tyler Fitzpatrick    
16 91L Lexi Adgate    
DNS 7K Robert Bulloch    
DNS 23 Joe Geibe    

COMP Cams $100 Fast Qualifier
Joe Swanson (7) – 16.803

Engler Machine & Tool Heat $100 winner – Brian Smith (2+)
2+, 7, 0, 1A, 19J, 46, 91L, 23

Lane Automotive Heat $100 winner – Ryan Tuhl (16)
16, 5B, 4T, 27K, 81, 7K, 8, 24, 57

Kistler Racing Products Contingency – Joe Swanson
BR Motorsports Contingency – Steve Irwin
COMP Cams Contingency – Chad Blonde
Allstar Performance Contingency – Josh Turner

MAHLE Aftermarket technology can make the difference in your vehicles today.  The highly acclaimed MAHLE/Clevite is an American brand with one of the oldest pedigrees and supplies pistons, assemblies, cylinder liners, bearings and valves for American commercial vehicles as well as construction and agricultural equipment applications. For more information about MAHLE/Clevite, click here.

For more information about Engine Pro, click here.  For more information about ARP, click here.  The full 2016 Sprints on Dirt schedule, rules, current news, and other information are available at

Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP is brought to you by many important sponsor partners including: Engine Pro (Title Sponsor), ARP (Title Sponsor), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official SOD Tire), MAHLE/Clevite (Beyond Limits Challenge Sponsor), Engine Pro (Lucky Dog Sponsor), Lane Automotive (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), Engler Machine & Tool (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), COMP Cams (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), (SOD Series Rookie of the Year Sponsor & SOD Sprint Car Rookie of the Year Sponsor), XYZ Machining (Sportsman of the Year Sponsor & Crew Chief of the Year Sponsor), KSE Racing Products (Hard Charger Sponsor).  In addition, SOD contingency sponsors include: ATL Racing Fuel Cells, Kistler Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Schoenfeld Headers, K2W Precision/Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Ti22 Performance, BR Motorsports, King Racing Products, License 2 Play, Maxim Racing, Simpson Racing Products, Rod End Supply, Diversified Machine Inc. (DMI), Racing Optics