Ryan Ruhl Rules Engine Pro SOD Nitro Black Mike Olrich Memorial at Crystal


Trophy 1Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP Nitro Black Mike Olrich Memorial Race trophy plate (TJ Buffenbarger photo)

Ryan & Big MoRyan Ruhl with the SOD Big Money

Ryan with Olrich family and trophyRyan Ruhl with Mike’s children Joslyn, Taylor, and Josh

Ryan Ruhl dominated the Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP Nitro Black Mike Olrich Memorial Race in support of Racing Awareness.com at Crystal Motor Speedway.  The memorial race was the most prestigious event and final race of the Sprints On Dirt season, and the championship race of the MAHLE/Clevite Beyond Limits Challenge five-race mini-series.

Ruhl led all 30 laps of the non-stop feature in front of a very large and enthusiastic crowd.  Friday’s SOD Hartford winner Chad Blonde took over 2nd on lap 15, but Ruhl had a full straightaway lead.  Blonde was a tick faster than Ruhl the last few laps, but not enough to get close to the leader.  Ruhl also won the 2015 Mike Olrich Memorial at Crystal.

Brian Smith drove a steady race to finish 6th and secure the 2016 Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP Championship, the MAHLE/Clevite Beyond Limits Challenge, and the 2016 RockAuto.com SOD Series Rookie of the Year.

Ruhl’s win was with a 360 cubic inch engine.  One 305, three 360’s, and and six 410s in the top 10 cars.

Former lightning sprint standout Justin Ward nailed down the 2016 RockAuto.com SOD Sprint Car Rookie of the Year honoring the top first-time driver in a full-size sprint car.

Top rookiesRockAuto.com Rookies of the Year Brian Smith and Justin Ward

ARP MAHLE/Clevite Beyond Limits Challenge Feature

  # Driver Motor Size Awards Contingencies
1 16 Ryan Ruhl 360 Rod End Supply
2 5B Chad Blonde 410 KSE Hard Charger Rod End Supply
3 0 Steve Irwin 410 Rod End Supply
4 19 Brett Mann 410 Racing Optics
5 22M Dan McCarron 305 ATL Racing Fuel Cells
6 2+ Brian Smith 410 King Racing Products
7 17X Dain Naida 360
8 4T Josh Turner 410
9 1A Mark Aldrich 410 Ti22 Draw Winner
10 46 Robert Huisken 360
11 10S Jay Steinebach 410
12 77X Alex Hill 360 DMI Draw Winner
13 3A Mike Astrauskas 360
14 27X Jared Lamberson 360 Engine Pro Lucky Dog
15 8 Justin Ward 410
16 81 John Gall 410
17 24 Eric Smith 360
18 6 Tyler Bearden 305
19 27 Brad Lamberson 360
20 89 Chris Pobanz 360

Fast Qualifier – Chad Blonde, 12.390

Engler Machine & Tool Heat $100 winner – Josh Turner (4T)
4T, 19, 16, 22M, 10S, 6, 91L

Lane Automotive Heat $100 winner – Dain Naida (17X)
17X, 2+, 27, 27X, 3A, 8, 89, 35

COMP Cams Heat $100 winner – Mark Aldrich (1A)
1A, 0, 5B, 46, 81, 77X, 24, 31

B-Main winner – Chris Pobanz (89)
89, 8, 6, 24, 35 (Mark Strpko), 91L (Lexi Adgate), 31 (Tanner Astrauskas), DNS – 57 (Tyler Fitzpatrick)

Kistler Racing Products Contingencies – Brett Mann, Steve Irwin
BR Motorsports Contingency – Ryan Ruhl
COMP Cams Contingency – Brian Smith
Allstar Performance Contingency – Brad Lamberson
Schoenfeld Headers – Chad Blonde

For general information about Racing Awareness, go here; on Facebook, search for RacingAwareness or @RacingAwareness; on Twitter and Instagram type @RacingAwareness. For specific inquiries about Racing Awareness, contact Jeff or Norm at talktous@racingawareness.com.

For more information about MAHLE/Clevite, go here.  For more information about Engine Pro and Nitro Black, go to here.  For more information about ARP, go here.  The full 2016 Sprints on Dirt schedule, rules, current news, and other information are available here.

Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP is brought to you by many important sponsor partners including: Engine Pro (Title Sponsor), ARP (Title Sponsor), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official SOD Tire), MAHLE/Clevite (Beyond Limits Challenge Sponsor), Engine Pro (Lucky Dog Sponsor), Lane Automotive (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), Engler Machine & Tool (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), COMP Cams (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), RockAuto.com (SOD Series Rookie of the Year Sponsor & SOD Sprint Car Rookie of the Year Sponsor), XYZ Machining (Sportsman of the Year Sponsor & Crew Chief of the Year Sponsor), KSE Racing Products (Hard Charger Sponsor).  In addition, SOD contingency sponsors include: ATL Racing Fuel Cells, Kistler Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Schoenfeld Headers, K2W Precision/Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Ti22 Performance, BR Motorsports, King Racing Products, License 2 Play, Maxim Racing, Simpson Racing Products, Rod End Supply, Diversified Machine Inc. (DMI), Racing Optics.