Doug Zimmerman – 2016 SOD Butler Bash Master


Doug 2Doug Zimmerman photo by Kimber Cramer.



In spite of nearby rain and surrounded by threatening weather, the Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt by ARP Butler Bash ACL Race Series High Performance Engine Bearing drew a full field of competitors and thrilled fans with a typically exciting SOD program.  The feature line up was led by a couple drivers who likely have the most combined win and championships in the Butler Speedway sprint division, Doug Zimmerman and Ken Mackey. Making them more formidable was the fact that Mackey won the regular Butler show last week and Zimmerman finished second.

Mackey jumped into the lead at the start and held a narrow margin over Zimmerman for two laps until Zimmerman made a turn four pass to take the top spot and begin to pull away.  While Zimmerman was flying in his customary high groove, Mackey tried to find a quicker line.  Mackey’s night ended a few laps later when he pulled to the infield with mechanical woes.

Zimmerman was flying high and opening a full straightaway lead as seventh place starter Ryan Ruhl suddenly was in second and when Zimmerman slipped of the top of three and four, Ruhl jumped into the lead as Zimmerman lost several positions.  Now Ruhl appeared to be in command, holding a several car length lead over Zimmerman who had worked his way back up to second.  Then, on lap twenty, the caution flew for the first time due to debris on the track.  The ensuing restart had Zimmerman right on Ruhl’s rear bump, and on lap twenty-three Ruhl slipped high in turn two, allowing Zimmerman to pull even with his. As the leaders charged through three and four, they touched and Ruhl spun to a stop off of turn four.  Ruhl was able to restart at the rear, but Zimmerman drove off to the impressive SOD Butler Bash ACL Race Series Bearings feature win and the $1,700 SOD / ACL Bearings / Steve Smith & Robert Flannigan Big Money check.

As has been the norm in every SOD show under the new, beyond limits package on SOD’s Hoosier spec tires, close competitive racing and few cautions highlighted the racing.

ACL Race Series High Performance Engine Bearings Feature

# Driver Awards Contingencies
1 19Z Doug Zimmerman Steve Smith/Robert Flannigan – $200 Rod End Supply
2 19 Brett Mann KSE Hard Charger (+9) Rod End Supply
3 27 Shelby Bilton Rod End Supply
4 1a Mark Aldrich Racing Optics
5 4 Josh Turner ATL Racing Fuel Cells
6 35 Stuart Brubaker King Racing Products
7 20A Andy Chehowski Ti22 Draw Winner
8 2+ Brian Smith
9 71H Brad Lamberson
10 0 Steve Irwin
11 16 Ryan Ruhl Engine Pro Lucky Dog
12 7 Shawn Valenti DMI Draw Winner
13 7k Robert Bulloch
14 21T Troy Chehowski
15 81 John Gall
16 14 Chuck Wilson
17 1 Eric Smith
18 52 Zac Broughman
19 8 Justin Ward
20 25m Ken Mackey

Fast Qualifier – Doug Zimmerman, 13.074

Engler Machine & Tool Heat winner – Brett Mann
19, 19Z, 1a, 21T, 2+, 8, 14, 6

Lane Automotive Heat winner – Ryan Ruhl
16, 0, 25m, 7, 71H, 7k, 1, 10S

COMP Cams Heat winner – Josh Turner
4, 27, 20A, 35, 81, 91L, 52, 12 (DNS)

B Main winner – Robert Bulloch
7k, 8, 14, 52, 1, 91L, 12, 10S, 6 (DNS)

Kistler Racing Products Contingencies – Doug Zimmerman, Shelby Bilton
BR Motorsports Contingency – Mark Aldrich
COMP Cams Contingency – Steve Irwin
Allstar Performance Contingency – Ken Mackey
Schoenfeld Headers Contingency – Andy Chehowski

To learn more about ACL Race Series Performance Engine Bearings, go to 

For more information about Engine Pro, go to  For more information about ARP, go to  The full 2016 Sprints on Dirt schedule, rules, driver member form, news, and other information can be read at

Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP is brought to you by many important sponsor partners including: Engine Pro (Title Sponsor), ARP (Title Sponsor), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official SOD Tire), MAHLE/Clevite (Beyond Limits Challenge Sponsor), Engine Pro (Lucky Dog Sponsor), Lane Automotive (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), Engler Machine & Tool (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), COMP Cams (Primary Heat Race Sponsor), (SOD Series Rookie of the Year Sponsor & SOD Sprint Car Rookie of the Year Sponsor), XYZ Machining (Sportsman of the Year Sponsor & Crew Chief of the Year Sponsor), KSE Racing Products (Hard Charger Sponsor).  In addition, SOD contingency sponsors include: ATL Racing Fuel Cells, Kistler Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Schoenfeld Headers, K2W Precision/Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Ti22 Performance, BR Motorsports, King Racing Products, License 2 Play, Simpson Racing Products, Rod End Supply, Diversified Machine Inc. (DMI), Racing Optics.