Randy Hannagan Wins “Earl Gaerte Classic” at Plymouth

By Bob Buffenbarger

Randy Hannagan (#22H) and Hud Horton (#28) Friday at Limaland Motorsports Park. - Mike Campbell Photo

. – Mike Campbell Photo

Plymouth,In.- (May 17, 2014 )- Randy Hannagan came from his 4th place start to win the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP, “Earl Gaerte Classic” 25 lap feature Saturday night at Plymouth Speedway. Hannagan had to fend off hard charging Danny Lasoski after a late caution.The “Earl Gaerte Challenge” which was offered to the pole setter Shawn Dancer was turned down and likewise, the outside front row driver Dennis Yoakam also turned down the $500 offer of starting between 11-20 and winning.An early yellow slowed action when Zane Devault and Linden Jones had trouble in turn four of lap 2. Devault was done for the night. With 5 laps in, Dennis Yoakam was out front with Shawn Dancer looking strong in 2nd with Hannagan and Lasoski close behind. Greg Dalman had a good run come to an end on lap 8 when he had trouble in turn three and was finished for the night.Now as the green flew again Lasoski had moved from 7th to fourth with Dustin Daggett in fifth as Hannagan and team mate Yoakam raced side by side for the lead with Hannagan prevailing on lap 12. With 15 circuits in the books, Hannagan led Yoakam, Dancer, Lasoski and Daggett.

Lasoski grabbed 2nd from Yoakam on lap 19 but Hannagan was now extending his lead. A late  caution with 2 laps remaining put Lasoski right on Hannagans bumper but the #22h of Hannagan was not to be denied as Lasoski finished 2nd with Yoakam, Dancer and Daggett following.

Heats were won by Greg Dalman, Randy Hannagan and Ryan Ruhl with Chase Ridenour taking the dash.


Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP
Plymouth Speedway – Plymouth,In.
Saturday May 17, 2014
Hoosier Racing Tire Heat Race #1 (8 Laps):1. Greg Dalman, 2. Brett Mann, 3. Dennis Yoakam, 4. Craig Karazim, 5.Brad Lamerson, 6. Jim Lingar, 7. Eric Smith
Lane Automotive / Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps):1. Randy Hannagan, 2. Dustin Daggett, 3. Shawn Dancer, 4. Zane Devaulte, 5. Joe Geibe, 6. Andy Chehowski, 7. Troy Chehowski
Speed Pro Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. Ryan Ruhl, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Chase Ridenour, 4. Kyle Pitts, 5. Robert Huisken, 6. Linden Jones, 7. Trey Smith
(Top 16 in passing points from the heat races transferred to the A-Main)
Nitro Black Dash (4 Laps): (Determined starting positions 9-12 in the A-Main) 1. Chase Ridenour, 2. Zane Devault, 3. Craig Karazim, 4. Joe Geibe
Engine Pro / ARP A-Main (25 Laps):1. Randy Hannagan, 2. Danny Lasoski, 3. Dennis Yoakam, 4. Shawn Dancer, 5. Dustin Daggett, 6. Ryan Ruhl, 7. Brett Mann, 8. Craig Karazim, 9. Kyle Pitts, 10. Trey Smith, 11. Robert Huisken, 12. Joe Geibe, 13. Andy Chehowski, 14. Brad Lamberson, 15. Linden Jones, 16. Chase Ridenour, 17. Jim Lingar, 18. Troy Chehowski, 19. Greg Dalman, 20. Zane Devault, 21. Eric Smith

Engine Pro Lucky Dog: Troy Chehowski