Dalman Slides to Winston Victory




By Bob Buffenbarger




Rothbury, Mi.. – (Friday,August 31,2012) –  Point leader Gregg Dalman used his experience to negotiate a tricky slick track and won the 25 lap Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP feature Friday night in front of a large crowd at Winston Speedway.


Ryan Grubaugh and Dustin Daggett made up the front row with Grubaugh shooting out to the early lead. The yellow flew with only three laps in the books for a tangle between Pobanz, Nate Bostrom and Kirkendall in turn three but 8th starting Steve Irwin had already moved into 3rd.


Two laps after the green waved Irwin had taken the lead with Grubaugh  and a fast closing Gregg Dalman chasing. With 10 laps in Irwin was hanging on over Dalman, Grubaugh, Dustin Daggett and Ryan Ruhl. Lap 14 saw Dalman pass Irwin and lapped traffic now was sliding up in front of the leaders. Lots of scrambling was taking place with Dalman still leading in the closing laps. As the white flag appeared Irwin and Ruhl came together in turn four.


Prior to that Grubaugh mounted a charge and pulled nearly even with Dalman but the cagy veteran in the 49t was up to the challenge. When the green and white came out Daggett made a bonsai charge but couldn’t get car to stick as Dalman took the win.






Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com.




Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Results


Friday August 31,2012


Winston Speedway – Rothbury, Mi.




Heat Races (Top # Finishers Transfer to the “A” Feature)




Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 Laps):  1. 49t Gregg Dalman,2. 10s Jay Steinbach, 3. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 4. 73 Dusty Shriver, 5. 14 Brett Mann, 6. 27k Ryan Kirkendall, 7. 2G Joe Geibe, 4. Eric Smith


Allstar Performance & Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8Laps):  1. 46 Robert Huisken, 2. 21t Troy Chehowski, 3.. 1 Steve Irwin, 4.. 31 Andy Teunessen, 5.. 81 Keith Love, 6. 21 Matt Lumbert, 7. 20a Andy Chehowski, Don Bostrom




Butlerbuilt Seats Heat Race #3 (8 Laps):  1. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 2. 2m Dustin Daggett, 3. 10 Davey Brown, 4. 89 Chris Pobanz, 5. 70 Jim Lingar, 6. 18 DJ Lamance, 7. Nate Bostrom, 16c Greg Wheeler






Engine Pro “B” Feature (Top 4 Finishers Transfer to the “A” Feature):




“B” Feature (10 Laps):  1. 20a Andy Chehowski, 2. 36 Nate Bostrom, 3. 2G Joe Geibe, 4. 21 Matt Lumbert, 5. 4  Eric Smith, 6. 6 Don Bostrom






Brodix Heads  Fast Car Dash  1.81 Keith Love, 2. 73 Dusty Shriver, 3. 10x Davey Brown, 4. 89 Chris Pobanz




MAHLE & Clevite Short Track Challenge






Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP “A” Main Event




“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. Gregg Dalman, 2. Dustin Daggett, 3. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 4. 10s Jay Steinbach, 5. 81 Keith Love, 6. 21t Troy Chehowski, 7. 1 Steve Irwin, 8. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 9. 31 Andy Teunessen, 10. 10x Davey Brown, 11. 73 Dusty Shriver, 12. 20a Andy Chehowski, 13. 36 Nate Bostrom, 14. 46 Robert Huisken, 15. 2g Joe Geibe, 16. 27k Ryan Kirkendall, 17. 21 Matt Lumbert, 18. 70 Jim Lingar, 19. 14 Brett Mann, 20. 89 Chris Pobanz