Daggett Wins at Hartford


From Mike Strevel

Hartford,MI— (August 29, 2014) – Dustin Daggett found his way to the Hartford Speedway victory lane Friday evening in front of a crowd announced as over 3,000. The four time Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP champion took the lead with 8 laps to go and held off a late charge from current point leader Ryan Ruhl to capture another victory, his 97th SOD sanctioned win.

Rookie racer Craig Karazim drew the pole position in the Engine Pro redraw and looked like a strong candidate for his first SOD feature win. Dustin Daggett steadily was moving up from his 7th starting position and made an incredible pass diving into turn one with eight laps to go to pick up his third feature victory of the 2014 season.

Brett Mann had a very strong run going moving into contention mid-race actually getting to second before a last lap engine failure ended his nice run. Ruhl tried several times in the last few laps to capture the third Hartford feature of his year, but Daggett was just too strong. Following Daggett across the line was Ruhl, Chase Ridenour had a career best third place finish with a very impressive run Karazim ended up fourth and Mark Aldrich took fifth.

The racing was delayed over two hours due to a late afternoon thundershower. However the hard working Hartford Speedway crew lead by promoter Tim Dibble was determined to get the final race of the season in at the wicked fast half mile oval and a very supportive crowd waited to witness another great Sprints on Dirt program. The entire staff of the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP would like to congratulate Hartford on an incredible comeback year and appreciate them sticking it out to complete the race Friday evening.

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP
Hartford Speedway – Hartford, MI
Friday August 29, 2014

Hoosier Tire Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. 16 – Ryan Ruhl, 2. 19 – Brett Mann, 3. 27 – Brad Lamberson, 4. 21 Kirk Cheney, 5. 7k Kyle Pitts

All Star Performance / Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 2M Dustin Daggett, 2.31 Andy Teunnessen, 3. 20A Andy Chehowski, 4. 19J Linden Jones, 5. 70 Jim Lingar

Speed Pro Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 11R –Chase Ridenour, 2.4Z Craig Karazim, 3.29s Mark Aldrich, DNS 10s Jay Steinbach, 49t Gregg Dalman

Nitro Black Dash (4 Laps): Cancelled due to incoming weather

A-Main (25 Laps): 1. 2m Dustin Daggett, 2. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 3. 11R – Chase Ridenour, 4. 4Z – Craig Karazim, 5. 29s Mark Aldrich, 6. 27 Brad Lamberson, 7. 31 Andy Teunnessen, 8. 7K Kyle Pitts, 9. 20A Andy Chehowski, 10. 19 Brett Mann, 11. 19J Linden Jones, 12.70 Jim Lingar, 13. 21 Kirk Cheney, 14. 49t Gregg Dalman DNS – 10S Jay Steinbach

Lap Leaders: Karazim 1-16, Daggett 17-25

Engine Pro Lucky Dog Winner-Jim Lingar