Daggett Blasts to Victory at Merritt


By T.J. Buffenbarger

Merritt, MI — (August 2, 2014) – Dustin Daggett made an opening lap move pay off on his way to victory on Saturday night at Merrit Speedway with the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP. Daggett blasted to the lead from row two with a three wide pass to take the lead and motored through lapped traffic to take the victory.

While Daggett was pulling away after the tremendous start Daggett’s nemesis in the 2014 SOD championship race Ryan Ruhl slid off the track in turn four. Ruhl restarted from the tail of the field and thrilled the Merritt fans racing up through the field. Aided by two cautions, Ruhl was soon racing with Kyle Pitts for second position. Pitts, who was having his career best SOD feature run, battled with Ruhl until two laps to go when Ruhl took the runner up spot. At that point Daggett’s lead was insurmountable for Ruhl to overcome. Pitts held on for a career best third place finish while Troy Chehowski and Chase Ridenour rounded out the top five.

Rienour, Ruhl, and Pitts won heat race events. The dash was scratched due to lighting issues. SOD teams and officials would like to thank Merritt Speedway for pushing the feature up in the program to complete the event.

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP
Merritt Speedway – Merritt, MI
Saturday August 2nd, 2014

Hoosier Tire Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. Chase Ridenour, 2. Mike Austraskus, 3. Gregg Dalman, 4. Robert Huisken, 5. Andy Teunessen, 6. Brad Lamberson

All Star Performance / Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. Ryan Ruhl, 2. Dustin Daggett, 3. Chris Pobanz, 4. Jay Steinebach, 5. Jim Lingar

Speed Pro Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. Kyle Pitts, 2. Andy Chehowski, 3. Troy Chehowski, 4. Tank Brakenberry, 5. Ralph Brakenberry.

A-Main (25 Laps): 1. Dustin Daggett, 2. Ryan Ruhl, 3. Kyle Pitts, 4. Troy Chehowski, 5. Chase Ridenour, 6. Gregg Dalman, 7. Andy Chehowski, 8. Jay Steinebach, 9. Chris Pobanz, 10. Brad Lamberson, 11. Mike Austraskus, 11. Robert Huisken, 13. Andy Teunessen, 14. Jim Lingar, 15. Tank Brakenberry, 16. Ralph Brakenberry.

Lap Leaders: Daggett 1-25

Engine Pro Lucky Dog: Chris Pobanz