Daggett Drives to Another ASCS SOD Win at Hartford

Dustin Daggett
Dustin Daggett in victory lane at Hartford Motor Speedway. - T.J. Buffenbarger Photo

T.J. Buffenbarger, HARTFORD, Mich. (June 11, 2010) – Dustin Daggett won Friday night’s Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP feature at Hartford Speedway Speedway. Daggett raced up from sixth spot to take the lead from Ryan Grubaugh on lap seven and held off a mid-race challenge from Kyle Sauder to take the 15th ASCS SOD win of his career at Hartford, moving one step closer to the all time lead in feature wins with the series.

Daggett, driving the Mott Motorsports Gaerte powered Maxim Chassis, bided his time early on as Sean Robinson, Gregg Dalman, Aaron Shaffer, and Ryan Grubaugh battled for the top spot at the start of the event. Daggett used a daring move to pass Shaffer and Dalman between turns three and four to move to second on lap six, and disposed of Grubaugh one lap later to take the lead.

Sauder, second on the ASCS SOD win list at Hartford to Daggett, showed his skills were not rusty from not racing the Hartford half-mile in over six years and worked his way up to the second spot. After a spin by Dain Naida on lap nine Daggett utilized the lap car between himself and Sauder to open up a sizeable advantage. Sauder slowly chipped away at the lead, and caught a break when Daggett had to check up for a close encounter in slower traffic. Just as Sauder closed Naida cut a left rear tire that triggered Andy Teunessen into a hard flip in turn one Teunessen emerged from his car shaken, but uninjured.

As the cars pushed off for the restart Sauder’s left rear tire went flat. The Dave Jessup led crew was able to get the tire changed, but knocked Sauder out of contention. This moved Grubaugh up to second position, but he could not keep pace as Daggett motored to victory. Grubaugh, Dalman, defending ASCS SOD Champion Brett Mann, and Robinson rounded out the top five.

Daggett, Grubaugh, and Naida won heat race events. Sauder won the fast car dash.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Results
Friday June 11th, 2010
Hartford Motor Speedway – Hartford, MI

Heat Races

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. 2m – Dustin Daggett, 2. 27 – Ryan Ruhl, 3. 22 – Aaron Shaffer, 4. 19 – Brett Mann, 5. 23 – Ben Rutan, 6. 187 – Gavin Hunyady. DNS: 73 – Dustin Shriver

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 00 – Ryan Grubaugh, 2. 7K – Kyle Sauder, 3. 49t – Gregg Dalman, 4. 31 – Andy Teunessen, 5. 46 – Robert Huisken. DNS: 70 – Jim Lingar

Butlerbuilt Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 6n – Dain Naida, 2. 1 – Sean Robinson, 3. 55 – Kirk Cheney, 4. 29s – Marques Huffer, 5. 11 – Trey Smith. DNS: 14 – Ryan Davis.

Total Seal Fast Car Dash presented by Gaerte Engines (4 Laps): 1. 7K – Kyle Sauder, 2. 2m – Dustin Daggett, 3. 00 – Ryan Grubaugh, 4. 6n – Dain Naida

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by Victor Reinz “A” Main Event

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2m – Dustin Daggett, 2. 00 – Ryan Grubaugh, 3. 49t – Gregg Dalman, 4. 19 – Brett Mann, 5. 1 – Sean Robinson, 6. 27 – Ryan Ruhl, 7. 7k – Kyle Sauder, 8. 22 – Aaron Shaffer, 9. 23 – Ben Rutan, 10. 55 – Kirk Cheney, 11. 6N – Dain Naida, 12. 11 – Trey Smith, 13. 46 – Robert Huisken, 14. 29s – Marques Huffer, 15. 187 – Gavin Hunyady, 16. 31 – Andy Teunessen. DNS: 70 – Jim Lingar, 14 – Ryan Davis, 73 – Dustin Shriver

Hard Charger: Mann (+6)