Steve Irwin crowned 2017 Sprints On Dirt Champion


The curtain came down on the Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP 2017 season with the 38th Annual Awards Banquet at the Holiday Inn Battle Creek (MI) Saturday night with the last of the season’s $76,535 points money and awards handed out.

The top 12 drivers in season points were led by Steve Irwin, now a two-time SOD champion.  Irwin’s share of 2017 points money and awards was $7,609.  Irwin and wife/car owner Adrianna looked ready to appear at a celebrity awards show in their vintage 50s-style attire.

Steve, Newt, Maddie, CarlaAdrianna, Steve, Steve’s daughter Madison, & mother Karla celebrate

2017 Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP Championship final points

FinishDriverTotalTrophy sponsor
1Steve Irwin1899Hartford Speedway
2Thomas Schinderle1826Noisee1 Motorsports
3Gregg Dalman1770Crystal Motor Speedway
4Chris Jones1426The Perfit Corporation
5Ryan Ruhl1409Roger & Pat Holzinger
6Jay Steinebach1385Lane Automotive
7Robert Bulloch1366Ruiz Tree & Landscape Services
8Andrew Scheid1342Merritt Speedway
9Andy Chehowski1342Pell’s Tire Service
10Mark Aldrich1132Engine Pro
11Joe Swanson1114John & Kathie Naida
12Tony Bures1106Butler Speedway
2017-11-11-16-02-30-458The custom-made SOD trophies ready to go to their new homes

Championship points awards

Allstar Performance products compliments of Sprints On Dirt distributed among top 12
Aluminum radiator
Front axle
Knee guard
Wing tree
Aero tank cover
Heating pad
Front bumper
Rock screen
Gear totes (10)
Tool tray
Top wing cap
Drain pan
Pitman arm
Water temperature gauge
Oil pressure gauge
Mud scrapers
Drag link tether
Allstar Performance crew gloves compliments of Sprints On DirtEach driver
ATL Racing Fuel Cells product certificateRyan Ruhl
Driven Racing Oil Extreme Pressure GreaseJoe Swanson, Tony Bures
Hepfner Racing Products product certificateJay Steinebach
Hoosier Racing Tire SOD tire setSteve Irwin
J & J Auto Racing product certificatesRyan Ruhl, Tony Bures
Keizer Aluminum Wheels product certificatesRobert Bulloch, Joe Swanson
Maxim Racing product certificatesGregg Dalman, Chris Jones, Andrew Scheid, Andy Chehowski, Mark Aldrich
Racing Optics tear off sleeveAndrew Scheid product certificatesMark Aldrich, Tony Bures
Rod End Supply product certificateSteve Irwin, Thomas Schinderle, Chris Jones, Robert Bulloch, Andrew Scheid, Andy Chehowski, Tony Bures
Schoenfeld HeadersGregg Dalman, Joe Swanson
Simpson driver glovesAndrew Scheid, Andy Chehowski
Walker Performance sprint car filter system certificatesSteve Irwin (100%), Thomas Schinderle (50%), Chris Jones (20%)
Walker Performance filter cleaning kitsSteve Irwin, Thomas Schinderle, Chris Jones
Hoosier Racing Tire jacketsSteve Irwin, Thomas Schinderle, Gregg Dalman
Allstar Performance mud scrapers compliments of Sprints On DirtDriver draw
Driven Racing Oil Brake CleanerDriver draw
Driven Racing Oil Extreme Pressure GreaseDriver draw
Driven Racing Oil Foaming DegreaserDriver draw

2017 Sprints On Dirt mini-series final standings

The MAHLE/Clevite Beyond Limits Challenge
1Steve Irwin
2Thomas Schinderle
3Gregg Dalman
4Chris Jones
5Robert Bulloch
The King Engine Bearings King of Michigan
1Chad Blonde
2Steve Irwin
3Gregg Dalman
4Thomas Schinderle
5Ryan Ruhl
The Driven Racing Oil Battlegrounds Bash
1Thomas Schinderle
2Joe Swanson
3Chad Blonde
4Jay Steinebach
5Steve Irwin

2017 Performance Leaders

Most Lane Aurtomotive/MSD Ignition Fast MastersRyan Ruhl6
Most Engler Machine & Tool heat race winsGregg Dalman
Ryan Ruhl
Most COMP Cams heat race winsRyan Ruhl3
Most heat race winsSteve Irwin3
Most feature winsChad Blonde5

Season Achievement Awards

Sprint Car Rookie of the YearAndrew ScheidNoizee1 Motorsports
Series Rookie of the YearThomas SchinderleNoizee1 Motorsports
Crew Chief of the YearLisa LukowskiXYZ Machining
Sportsman of the YearRobert BullochXYZ Machining

Special Recognition Awards

Engine ProSeries title sponsor
ARPSeries title sponsor
Hoosier Racing TireSeries tire provider
Roger & Pat Holzinger13 years as SOD officials

Appreciation Awards

Appreciation Awards
Alexis AdgateBanquet awards presenter
XYZ Maching, Inc.Awards sponsorships
Noizee 1 MotorsportsAwards sponsorships
Dan McCarronPromotional representative
Motor City Racing PromotionsRace officiating personnel
Jim Coffey & Son Plumbing & HeatingRace sponsorships

Thank you Kathie Naida, Scott Menlen, Julie Beebe, Tim Beebe, Audra Hart, and Pat Holzinger for banquet preparation and services.  Thank you to Jim DeHamer, DenHamer Photo, for his photo documentation of the banquet activities.  Photos are online at

For more information about Engine Pro go to  For more information about ARP, go to

Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP expresses its sincere thank you to our 2017 season sponsor partners including: Engine Pro (Title Sponsor), ARP (Title Sponsor), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official SOD Tire), MAHLE/Clevite (Beyond Limits Challenge Sponsor), Driven Racing Oil (Battlegrounds Bash Sponsor), King Engine Bearings (King of Michigan Sponsor), Lane Automotive/MSD Ignition (Fast Masters Sponsor), Engler Machine & Tool (Heat Race Sponsor), COMP Cams (Heat Race Sponsor), (Heat Race Sponsor), The Perfit Corporation (Lucky Dog Sponsor), KSE Racing Products (Hard Charger Sponsor), XYZ Machining (Season Sportsman & Crew Chief Sponsor), Jim Coffey & Son Plumbing & Heating.  In addition, SOD contingency sponsors include: Allstar Performance, ATL Racing Fuel Cells, BR Motorsports, Diversified Machine Inc. (DMI), K2W Precision/Keizer Aluminum Wheels, King Racing Products, Kistler Racing Products, Maxim Racing, Motor City Racing Promotions, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Schoenfeld Headers, Simpson Racing Products, Walker Performance Filtration.