Mitch Brown wins SOD/NRA feature at Montpelier


81BrownOntarioCanada 20150801

By Bob Buffenbarger

Montpelier, In. – (August 1, 2015) – Mitch Brown used his outside front row starting position to power to the lead from the green flag and went on to an impressive Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP vs K&L Ready Mix NRA Sprint Invaders win at Montpelier Motor Speedway Saturday night.

As the feature was forming, the 12R of Nick Roberts encountered trouble and took a spill in turn four, but made some hasty repairs and made it back out to start the A with a crumpled wing. Pole setter Kyle Sauder took the green for the 25 lap event and as the field came off turn two, Max Stambaugh lost power in the middle of the pack but luckily all cars were able to avoid contact. Stambaugh was finished for the night though.

A complete restart was in order and things heated up quickly with Brown and Sauder completing lap one side by side with several cars making contact behind the leaders, however the green stayed out. Brown took command early on and stretched his lead some over Sauder with Hud Horton 3rd and Tyler Moore 4th as Phil Gressman, Jared Horstman and Tim Allison were all dicing for 5th.

As the 10th lap was completed, Gressman and Horstman made contact at the stripe with Horstman spinning and bringing out the only caution of the feature. As the green appeared again the order was Brown, Horton, Sauder, Moore and Gressman. Now the 23 of Devon Dobie who started 11th was on the move and took 3rd over on lap 12.

Brown maintained the top spot as racing behind him continued to be intense with now 10th starting Shawn Dancer entering the fray and moving in on Sauder. As the white flag flew, Brown was not challenged but at the checkers it was Horton, Dobie, Dancer and Sauder all under a blanket behind Mitch Brown.

Heats for the 18 cars on hand were won by Hud Horton and Tyler Moore

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP
Montpelier Motor Speedway
Montpelier, MI
Saturday August 1, 2015

Comp Cams / Lane Automotive Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. 17H – Hud Horton, 2. 10 – Mitch Brown, 3. 17 – Jared Horstman, 4. 28H – Phil Gressman, 5. 6 – Max Stambaugh, 6. 23 – Devon Dobie, 7. 27 – Brad Lamberson, 8. 77 – Zane Devault, 9. 12 – Nick Roberts

Kistler Racing Products Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 12J – Tyler Moore, 2. 83 – Kyle Sauder, 3. 49T – Gregg Dalman, 4. 11 – Tim Allison, 5. 49 – Shawn Dancer, 6. 22R – Kevin Roberts, Jr., 7. 6S – J.R. Stewart, 8. 8J – Jess Stiger, 9. 7K – Kyle Pitts

Engine Pro Feature (25-Laps): 1. 10 – Mitch Brown, 2. 17H – Hud Horton, 3. 23 – Devon Dobie, 4. 49 – Shawn Dancer, 5. 83 – Kyle Sauder, 6. 6S – J.R. Stewart, 7. 11 – Tim Allison, 8. 28H – Phil Gressman, 9. 12J – Tyler Moore, 10. 27 – Brad Lamberson, 11. 17 – Jared Horstman, 12. 49T – Gregg Dalman, 13. 7K – Kyle Pitts, 14. 8J – Jess Stiger, 15. 77 – Zane DeVault, 16. 12R – Nick Roberts, 17. 22R – Kevin Roberts, Jr, 18. 6 – Max Stambaugh.