Dustin Daggett's weekend in Canada couldn't have gone any better. Daggett won the 25 lap ASCS Sprints on Dirt feature on Saturday night at South Buxton Raceway after taking the lead from Gregg Dalman with less than 10 laps to go. It was the Portland, Michigan driver's second consecutive victory, as he claimed the win at Ohsweken Speedway on Friday.

From Tommy Goudge (July 3, 2010) –

Dustin Daggett
Dustin Daggett in victory lane at South Buxton Raceway. - Photo courtesy Dale Calnan/ImageFactor.ca

Dalman and Justin Martin started on the front row of the feature, and Dalman quickly took command out front. The first caution flag flew before five laps were in the books, as Mitchell Brown spun to a stop in turn four after contact with Gavin Hunyady. Darren Long dropped out of the race during the caution period, forfeiting his spot in the top three.

Dalman, Daggett, and Martin broke away from the field when the green came back out, but only a handful of laps were completed before Dain Naida brought out the caution on lap eight. Naida was done for the night with broken parts in the front end.

Dalman continued to hold the lead as the race went green for a longer period, but Daggett was making up ground in the outside groove. Daggett was patient and made the winning move on the outside in turn 4 on lap 17.

One final caution for debris with 3 laps left gave the rest of the field on last shot, but Daggett was not to be denied. Dalman finished second, followed by Martin, Grubaugh, and Ben Rutan. Heat races were claimed by Kyle Patrick and Rutan.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Results
Saturday, July 3rd, 2010
South Buxton Raceway – Merlin, ONT.

Heat Races (Top 8 in passing points redrew for feature starting spots)

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. 33k – Kyle Patrick, 2. 3g – Darren Long, 3. 7m – Justin Martin, 4. 2m – Dustin Daggett, 5. 6n – Dain Naida, 6. 1a – John Riegling, 7. 67 – Chris Durand.

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 23r – Ben Rutan, 2. 00 – Ryan Grubaugh, 3. 49t – Gregg Dalman, 4. 5 – Keith Dempster, 5. 10 – Mitchell Brown, 6. 187 – Gavin Hunyady, 7. 77x – Jamie Collard.

Total Seal Fast Car Dash presented by Gaerte Engines (4 Laps): 1. 3g – Darren Long, 2. 00 – Ryan Grubaugh, 3. 49t – Gregg Dalman, 4. 33k – Kyle Patrick.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP “A” Main Event

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2m – Dustin Daggett, 2. 49t – Gregg Dalman, 3. 7m – Justin Martin, 4. 00 – Ryan Grubaugh, 5. 23r – Ben Rutan, 6. 5 – Keith Dempster, 7. 33k – Kyle Patrick, 8. 77x – Jamie Collard, 9. 1a – John Riegling, 10. 187 – Gavin Hunyady, 11. 67 – Chris Durand, 12. 6n – Dain Naida, 13. 3g – Darren Long, 14. 10 – Mitchell Brown.

Hard Charger: Jamie Collard (+6)