## Horstman Wins SOD / NRA Showdown at Butler

By Bob Buffenbarger

Quincy, MI – (July 26, 2014) – Jared Horstman made the trip from Ohio worthwhile by winning Saturday night's Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP / K&L Ready Mix National Racing Alliance co-sanctioned event at Butler Motor Speedway. Ryan Kirkendall started on the pole with Ruhl along side and Ruhl jumped out to the lead at the drop of the green.

Separate caution periods for Doug Zimmerman, Brett Mann and Shawn Dancer slowed action but Ruhl looked untouchable early on as he was running the high side but was able to negotiate traffic with ease. On restarts 2nd place Horstman was able to close but Ruhl would quickly gain some distance on the #17 of Horstman.

Behind the lead pair, Craig Karazim was steady with a strong run in third with Trey Smith, Max Stambaugh, Devon Dobie and Dustin Stroupe and Chase Ridenour all involved with some great racing for 4th through 8th.

Lap 20 saw Horstman closing again on Ruhl as they were moving in on lapped traffic and on the 21st circuit, Horstman was able to make the pass in turn three on Ruhl. Horstman held Ruhl at bay and and went on to victory. Ruhl held on for second while Craig Karazim, Trey Smith, and Max Stambaugh rounded out the top five.

Heats for the 28 cars on hand went to Horstman, Karazim, Kirkendall and Trey Smith. Brett Mann won the B main and Dustin Stroupe won the dash. Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP / K&L Ready Mix National Racing Allance Butler Motor Speedway – Quincy, MI Saturday July 26, 2014

Hoosier Tire Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. Jared Horstman, 2. Dustin Stroup, 3. Chase Ridenour, 4. Brett Mann, 5. Mark Aldrich, 6. Tyler Moore, 7. Zane DeVault.

All Star Performance / Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. Craig Karazim, 2. Shawn Dancer, 3. Doug Zimmerman, 4. Kyle Pitts, 5. Dustin Daggett, 6. Andy Teunessen, 7. Jim Lingar.

Speed Pro Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. Ryan Kirkendall, 2. Andy Chehowski, 3. Devon Dobie, 4. Ryan Ruhl, 5. Jay Steinebach, 6. Jess Stiger, 7. Linden Jones.

ARP Fasteners Heat Race #4 (8 Laps): 1. Trey Smith, 2. Max Stambaugh, 3. Brad Lamberson, 4. Hud Horton, 5. J.R. Stewart, 6. Troy Chehowski. DNS: Gregg Dalman.

(Top 16 in passing points from the heat race events transferred to the A-Main)

Nitro Black Dash (4 Laps): 1. Dustin Stroup, 2. Doug Zimmerman, 3. Andy Chehowski, 4. Devon Dobie (Finish determined starting posts 9-12 for the A-Main) Engine Pro B-Main (10 Laps): 1. Brett Mann, 2. Jay Steinebach, 3. J.R. Stewart, 4. Troy Chehowski, 5. Mark Aldrich, 6. Linden Jones, 7. Tyler Moore, 8. Jess Stiger, 9. Jim Lingar, 10. Zane DeVault, 11. Andy Teunessen. DNS: Gregg Dalman. (First four finishers transferred to the A-Main)

A-Main (25 Laps): 1. Jared Horstman, 2. Ryan Ruhl, 3. Craig Karazim, 4. Trey Smith, 5. Max Stambaugh, 6. Devon Dobie, 7. Dustin Stroup, 8. Chase Ridenour, 9. Brad Lamberson, 10. Dustin Daggett, 11. Hud Horton, 12. Ryan Kirkendall, 13. Andy Chehowski, 14. Kyle Pitts, 15. Doug Zimmerman, 16. J.R. Stewart, 17. Troy Chehowski, 18. Jay Stienebach, 19. Shawn Dancer, 20. Brett Mann.

Lap Leaders: Ruhl 1-21, Horstman 22-25

Engine Pro Lucky Dog: Doug Zimmerman