Mann Wins With Final Lap Pass at Hartford

From Mike Strevel

Hartford, MI — (August 16, 2013) — In front of an enthusiastic Southern Michigan crowd, the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP feature was picked up by Brett Mann of Goshen,IN who captured his first feature win of the 2013 season at the Hartford Motor Speedway in dramatic fashion.

A field of 17 winged sprint cars signed in at the huge 1/2 mile oval. Dustin Daggett took the lead from Chris Jones on the first lap and was being challenged by Gregg Dalman the first half of the feature. Just before the half-way point of the a-main Daggett had a severe mechanical failure of his rear axle and the Mott Motorsports 2M car crashed into the turn one wall, thus ending his night. Dalman inherited the lead and looked to have the win with a tremendous lead.

However the veteran driver of the Tracy Rice owned car was not to be denied as he closed on Dalman over the last five laps and was able to make two incredible three wide passes on the last lap to close on Dalman. Making an amazing pass coming out of turn four on the last lap Mann made the pass and took the win. An incredibly excited Mann thanked his car owner, great sponsors and supportive wife and children from the Hartford winners circle. The top five finishers of the evening for the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP feature were-Mann,Dalman, Jones,Andy Teunessen and Ryan Grubaugh.

Heat race wins were captured by Mann and Daggett, the Nitro Black Dash went to Jim Lingar. Robert Huisken flipped his car during hot laps, destroying his car; he was unhurt in the nasty looking accident.

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Results-Hartford Motor Speedway
Friday August 16, 2013
Hartford Motor Speedway, Hartford MI
Car Count 17

Heat Races (Top 16 in passing points transfer to the “A” Feature)
Hoosier Racing Tire Heat Race #1 (8 laps):1. 19 Brett Mann 2. 71 Trey Smith, 3. 10j Chris Jones, 4. 4 Eric Smith, 5. 70 Jim Lingar 6. 18 DJ Lamance 7. 21 Matt Lumbert 8. 73 Dusty Shriver 9. 44 Tom Davies DNS
Allstar Performance/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. Dustin Daggett, 2. 49t Gregg Dalman, 3. 23G Joe Geibe, 4. 00 Ryan Grubaugh 5. 31 Andy Teunessen 6. 21x Kirk Cheney 7. 27K Ryan Kirkendall
Nitro Black Dash- 1.70 Jim Lingar 2. 21X Kirk Cheney 3. 18 DJ Lamance 4. 21 Matt Lumbert

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP “A” Feature
“A” Feature (25 Laps):1.19 Brett Mann, 2.49T Gregg Dalman 3.10J Chris Jones, 4.31 Andy Teunessen,5.00 Ryan Grubaugh 6.21x Kirk Cheney 7. 73 Dusty Shriver, 8. 23g Joe Geibe, 9. 70 Jim Lingar, 10. 27K Ryan Kirkendall 11. 4 Eric Smith 12. 2M Dustin Daggett 13. 71 Trey Smith 14. 18 DJ Lamance 15. 21 Matt Lumbert DNS 46 Robert Huisken & 44 Tom Davies
Engine Pro Lucky Dog-Kirk Cheney $300