Daggett Celebrates Third ASCS Sprints on Dirt Championship

By Mike Strevel

Grand Ledge, MI driver Dustin Daggett celebrated his third Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Championship during Friday evening's festivities which were held at Firekeepers Casino in Battle Creek, MI.

The 29 year old racer picked up cash awards of nearly \$5,000 as he was congratulated by his fellow competitors. Daggett, the racer who has the most feature victories in the 32 year history of the winged sprint car group thanked his car owner Phil Mott and the incredible crew that helped him capture the 2011 championship.

A total of twelve different drivers were awarded with trophies and a share of the \$20,000 cash point fund. There were several great supporters of the series in attendance including series title sponsor representative Scott Overlund of Engine Pro of Grand Rapids, Barry Marlow of Miles Petroleum Group and long time track promoter and the only track to host an ASCS Sprints on Dirt event Ron Flinn of Crystal Motor Speedway.

After an opening video presentation celebrating the past year, Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Series Director Mike Strevel gave a short review of the 2011 season and then it was time to award the top eleven point finishers, the 2011 rookie of the year and several special awards to cap the 32nd season for the Michigan based sprint car group.

There were two 2012 scheduling announcements that were announced near the end of the presentation. The first was that for the 33rd year Crystal Motor Speedway will host the series on three occasions including the traditional opener on Saturday April 28. The second is that the new dirt track at Plymouth Speedway in Plymouth, IN will host a new event will be a part of the 2012 schedule. The inaugural Engine Pro Battle at the Bullring Presented by Hastings Manufacturing, MAHLE/Clevite & Melling Engine Parts will he held on Saturday June 16, 2012. This event expected to be one of the higher paying events of the 2012 season will also see two time NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion Tony Stewart compete against the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt competitors. The owner of the historic Eldora Raceway only makes a few short track appearances per year and this will mark his debut with the Sprints on Dirt series. There will be several more announcements regarding this exciting event throughout the off season that will make this an event that open wheel fans from across the Midwest will not want to miss. The complete 2012 series schedule is expected to be released by Jan 1, 2012.

Awards that were presented Friday evening include the following-MAHLE/Clevite Short Track Challenge Champion-Brett Mann

JE Pistons Passmaster winner- Andy Teunessen

Engine Pro Rookie of the Year- Andy Chehowski

2011 Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt favorite race track-Cherry Raceway

2011 Engine Builder of the year- Gaerte Engines

2011 Crew Chief of the Year- Robert Flanigan 3w car

2011 Car Owner of the Year-Tracy Rice 10 & 14 cars.

2011 Driver of the Year- Dustin Daggett

2011 Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP top eleven points finishers awarded on Friday November 11, 2011 at Firekeepers Casino Battle Creek, MI-

11. Ryan Grubaugh St Johns MI 1237

10. Marques Huffer Eagle MI 1286

9. Joe Bares Traverse City MI 1314

- 8. Jim Lingar South Bend IN 1428
- 7. Matt Lumbert Dowling MI 1465
- 6. Andy Teunessen Hastings MI 1485
- 5. Davey Brown Eaton Rapids MI 1595
- 4. Robert Huisken Marne MI 1736
- 3. Ryan Ruhl Angola IN 1782
- 2. Brett Mann Goshen IN 2047
- 1. Dustin Daggett Grand Ledge MI 2229

Check the photo gallery in sprintsondirt.com for photos from the Banquet