Ionia Free Fair on Tap for ASCS Sprints on Dirt Friday!

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (July 18, 2011) — The Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP take center stage at the world's Largest Free Fair as the series takes to the $\frac{1}{2}$ -mile Iona Fairground Speedway clay oval this Friday night.

Friday's card, annually a popular stop on the ASCS SOD trail, will mark the fourth event Ionia event since the track was widened in 2008.

Previous winners at the Ionia Fairgrounds include defending series champion Ryan Grubaugh in 2008, Tim Norman in 2009 and current points leader Dustin Daggett last year.

While Daggett of Portland, MI, holds the current points lead on the strength of four feature wins this year, two-time series champion Brett Mann of Goshen, IN, rides a two-race winning streak into Friday's action.

Others among the top ten in ASCS SOD points include Grubaugh (St. Johns, MI), Robert Huisken (Marne, MI), Davey Brown (Eaton Rapids, MI), Jim Lingar (South Bend, IN), Matt Lumbert (Dowling, MI), Marques Huff, Ken Mackey (Brooklyn, MI) and Ryan Ruhl.

Friday's action at the Ionia Fairground Speedway is set to get under way at 7:00 p.m.

The Ionia Fairgrounds Speedway is located in Ionia, MI, off I-96 Exit 67, then seven miles north on SR 66. For more information, contact the track at 989-235-5200 or 989-235-5201.

The Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP is in its

32nd season of competition. Twenty-seven races are on the calendar scheduled at 13 different tracks throughout Michigan, Ohio and Ontario.

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com.