Cap Henry top gun in COMP Cams End-of-the-Year Shootout



Henry in a wet victory lane (Jim DenHamer photo)

Erie, MI (September 30, 2018) – Cap Henry (Republic, OH) returned to victory lane in Lane Racing's (Armada, MI) J&J Auto Racing #4 for the second year in a row for the Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP season finale. The COMP Cams End-of-the-Year Shootout at Berlin Speedway also overwhelmingly repeated as part of the season's biggest dirt track race in Michigan.

There was nothing easy about the event, to say getting the

show in was challenging would be an understatement. The huge crowd braved frigid temperatures but rain, predicted to move in after 2:00 AM, made an early visit to the raceway. Before the sprint feature, the AELMT 50-lap feature was halted at 28 laps due to relatively light but persistent rain. Eventually, after much track prep by the Berlin track crew, the race was completed. Before the sprints could roll out, rain increased. Once again, the track crew went to work and the sprint car feature cars showed their determination to race by working the track for 31 laps. Not wanting to take time to refuel the cars, the feature was reduced to 20 laps from the scheduled 30.

Ryan Ruhl (Coldwater, MI) was overall fast qualifier overall. Joining Ruhl, Engler Machine & Tool heat Lane Automotive/MSD Ignition Fast Master, were Ricky Ferkel (Mt. Pleasant, MI) in the COMP Cams heat and Max Stambaugh (Elida, OH) in the RockAuto.com heat.

Cap Henry won the Engler Machine & Tool heat, Josh Turner (Osseo, MI) won the COMP Cams heat, and Dylan Westbrook (Scotland, ON), won the RockAuto.com heat.

Boston Mead (Onsted, MI) won the B-main. Andrew Scheid was impressive, motoring around the high side of the track to finish 2nd from his 7th starting position. Chad Blonde (Litchfield, MI), Steve Irwin (Fenton, MI), and John Gurley (Mishawaka, IN) also transferred to the feature.

Dylan Westbrook Ohsweken Speedway 360 sprint track champion, took the lead at the start of the feature from the pole with Ryan Ruhl right behind. Westbrook gradually opened up a several car length lead while fifth starter Cap Henry worked his way up to 2nd. As Westbrook was held up by heavy traffic, Henry was able to charge by him in turn 3 on lap 9. From there on, Henry was the class of the field taking a commanding lead while Westbrook did his best to hold on to 2nd. A lap 14 caution gave Westbrook a shot at Henry, but Henry maintained his mastery of the challenging track to cruise to the victory.

Ryan Ruhl took 3rd, Tyler Gunn (Napoleon, OH) 4th, and Zane DeVault (Plymouth, IN) 5th. 2018 SOD champion Chad Blonde struggled early in the night, but earned the KSE Hard Charger Award to finish 6th from his 18th starting spot.

As the checkered flag flew over the COMP Cams End-of-the-Year Shootout, the skies opened up; it wouldn't have been possible to have run two more laps.

Qualifying - Lane Automotive/MSD Ignition Fast Masters (fast qualifiers)

Group	Time	#	Driver
Engler Machine & Tool Heat	14.525	71H	Ryan Ruhl
COMP Cams Heat	15.051	0F	Ricky Ferkel
RockAuto.com Heat	14.967	51	Max Stambaugh

Heat Races, \$100 to win, \$30 for 2nd

Engler Machine & Tool Heat #1			
	#	Driver	Contingency
1 (2)	4	Cap Henry	
2 (4)	71H	H Ryan Ruhl	
3 (1)	7J	Joe Swanson	Benic Enterprises
4 (3)	68G	Tyler Gunn	Racing Optics
5 (8)	7	Shawn Valenti	

6 (6)	27B	Boston Mead	
7 (5)	46	Robert Huisken	
8 (7)	77	Andrew Scheid	

COMP Cams Heat #2			
	#	Driver	Contingency
1 (1)	4T	Josh Turner	
2 (2)	7z	Zane DeVault	
3 (4)	0F	Ricky Ferkel	Benic Enterprises
4 (5)	ЗА	Mike Astrauskas	Racing Optics
5 (7)	8	Justin Ward	
6 (8)	3G	John Gurley	
7 (3)	0	Steve Irwin	
8 (6)	31	Matt Kinzinger	

RockAuto.com Heat #3			
	#	Driver	Contingency
1	47x	Dylan	
(1)	4/X	Westbrook	

2 (2)	49T	Gregg Dalman	
3 (4)	51	Max Stambaugh	
4 (6)	105	Jay Steinebach	Racing Optics
5 (3)	5QB	Quentin Blonde	
6 (5)	5B	Chad Blonde	
7 (7)	91L	Alexis Adgate	
8 (8)	33	Jeremy Ferguson	

B-Main			
	#	Driver	Contingency
1 (1)	27B	Boston Mead	
2 (7)	77	Andrew Scheid	
3 (3)	5B	Chad Blonde	
4 (5)	Θ	Steve Irwin	
5 (2)	3G	John Gurley	
6 (8)	31	Matt Kinzinger	
7 (9)	33	Jeremy Ferguson	

8 (4)	46	RobertHuisken	
9 (6)	91L	Alexis Adgate	

Feature

	#	Driver	Awards	Contingencies
1 (5)	4	Cap Henry		
2 (1)	47x	Dylan Westbrook	Jim Coffey & Son	Rod End Supply
3 (2)	71H	Ryan Ruhl		Rod End Supply
4 (10)	68G	Tyler Gunn		Schoenfeld Headers
5 (6)	7z	Zane DeVault		ATL Racing Fuel Cells
6 (18)	5B	Chad Blonde		Allstar Performance
7 (9)	51	Max Stambaugh		
8 (16)	27B	Boston Mead		
9 (15)	5QB	Quentin Blonde		King Racing Products
10 (17)	77	Andrew Scheid		
11 (12)	105	Jay Steinebach		Keizer Aluminum Wheels
12 (13)	7	Shawn Valenti		

13 (8)	0F	Ricky Ferkel	
14 (11)	ЗА	Mike Astrauskas	
15 (3)	49T	Gregg Dalman	
16 (14)	8	Justin Ward	
17 (4)	4T	Josh Turner	
18 (20)	105	Jay Steinebach	
19 (7)	7J	Joe Swanson	
20 (19)	Θ	Steve Irwin	

KSE Racing Products Hard Charger – Chad Blonde (+12)
BR Motorsports Contingency (feature top 10 draw) – Tyler Gunn
DMI (Diversified Machine) Contingency (feature 12-16 draw) –
John Gurley

Perfit Corporation Lucky Dog - Steve Irwin

Allstar Performance Better Luck Next Time - Andrew Scheid

For more information about COMP Cams, go to www.compcams.com. Visit Berlin Raceway at www.berlinraceway.com. Follow Berlin Raceway on Facebook at www.facebook.com/wherespeedbelongs.

To learn more about Engine Pro, go to www.enginepro.com. For more information about ARP, go to www.arp-bolts.com. Follow SOD at www.sprintsondirt.com and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sprintsondirt. Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP is brought to you in 2018 by:

Engine Pro (Title Sponsor) ARP (Title Sponsor) Hoosier Racing Tire (Official SOD Tire) MAHLE/Clevite (Beyond Limits Challenge Sponsor) King Engine Bearings (Hartford King of Michigan Sponsor) Motul (Leader of the Pack Sponsor) Lane Automotive (Fast Masters Cosponsor) MSD Ignition (Fast Masters Cosponsor) Engler Machine & Tool (Heat Race Sponsor) COMP Cams (Heat Race Sponsor) RockAuto.com (Heat Race Sponsor) ARP (Lucky Dog Sponsor) KSE Racing Products (Hard Charger Sponsor) Allstar Performance (Better Luck Next Time Sponsor) The Perfit Corporation (Series Rookie of the Year Sponsor) The Perfit Corporation (Sprint Car Rookie of the Year Sponsor) Jim Coffey and Son Plumbing & Heating (Deuced It! Sponsor) XYZ Machining (Sportsman of the Year Sponsor) XYZ Machining (Crew Chief of the Year Sponsor) Noizee 1 Motorsports (Bags o' Money Awards)

SOD 2018 contingency sponsor partners are:

Allstar Performance	ATL Racing Fuel Cells
Benic Enterprises	BR Motorsports
Diversified Machine Inc. (DMI)	Hepfner Racing Products (HRP)
J & J Auto Racing	Keizer Aluminum Wheels
King Racing Products	Maxim Racing
Motor City Racing Promotions	Racing Optics
Rod End Supply	Schoenfeld Headers
Simpson Racing Products	Walker Performance Filtration