## Daggett Wins at I-96

By Bob Buffenbarger

Lake Odessa, Mi- (August 3 2013) Dustin Daggett raced his way to another 25 lap feature win at I-96 Speedway Saturday night during the second appearance of the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP. Daggett started on the pole and led the distance but had to overcome several caution periods.

The first yellow appeared on the third lap when John Gall spun in turn four. On the re-start, Trey Smith hit the turn one wall hard and was done for the night. With five in, Daggett was on a mission but the 27 of Ohio's Beau Stewart was keeping Daggett in his sights. Another Ohio native, Jared Horstman, wanted a piece of the action and blasted his way around Stewart after a lap nine restart as Gregg Dalman encountered trouble in turn four.

The  $\frac{1}{2}$  mile was fast with Horstman and Stewart locked in a fierce battle with Horstman sliding off the track but only losing one spot now with 15 laps in the book. Now add Ryan Grubaugh, Ryan Ruhl and Brett Mann to the fray as Daggett continued in front. However lap 21 found Mann going to the infield with mechanical problems.

With four to go Daggett maintained his lead but the racing behind him was intense between Grubaugh, Stewart, Ruhl and Horstman. Two more cautions slowed the pace momentarily but after a final restart with one to go, Daggett proved too tough to tame with Grubaugh, Stewart, Chris Jones and Ryan Ruhl following.

A beautiful evening greeted a large crowd with 23 sprint cars on hand. Heat races were won by Jared Horstman, Trey Smith and Robert Huisken. The B main went to Nate Bostrom and Ryan Ruhl took the Dash checkers.

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP I-96 Speedway — Lake Odessa, Mi. Saturday August 3rd, 2013

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. 17 Jared Horstman, 2. 23g Joe Geibe, 3. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 4. 27 Beau Stewart, 5. 31 Andy Teunessen, 6. 21 Kirk Cheney, 7. 4 Eric Smith, 8. 6 Don Bostrom

All Star Performance / Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 11 Trey Smith, 2. 2m Dustin Dagget, 3. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 4. 19 Brett Mann, 5. 81 John Gall, 6. 88 Mike Daggett, 7. 2T Tank Brakenberry, 8. 22T Ralph Braenberry

Speed Pro Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 46 Robert Huisen, 2. 49T Gregg Dalman, 3. 89 Chris Pobanz, 4. 10J Chris Jones, 5. 187 Gavin Hunyady, 6. 18 DJ Lamance, 7. 36 Nate Bostrom DNF

(Top 16 in passing points from the heat races transferred to the A-Main)

Engine Pro B-Main (10 Laps): (First four finishers in the B-Main transfers to the A-Main) 1. 36 Nate Bostrom, 2. 4 Eric Smith, 3. 18 DJ Lamance, 4. 6 Don Bostrom, 5. 21 Kirk Cheney, 6. 2T Tank Braenberry

Nitro Black Dash (4 Laps): (Determined starting positions 9-12 in the A-Main) 1. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 2. 19 Brett Mann, 3.23G Joe Geibe, 4. 89 Chris Pobanz

Engine Pro / ARP A-Main (25 Laps): 1. 2m Dustin Daggett, 2. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 3. 27 Beau Stewart, 4. 10J Chris Jones, 5. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 6. 17 Jared Horstman, 7. 46 Robert Huisken, 8. 89 Chris Pobanz, 9. 23G Joe Geibe, 10. 88 Mike Daggett, 11. 81 John Gall, 12. 4 Eric Smith, 13. 49T Gregg Dalman, 14. 19 Brett Mann, 15. 31 Andy Teunessen, 16. 187 Gavin Hunyady, 17. 36 Nate Bostrom, 18. 6 Don Bostrom, 19. 11 Trey Smith, 20. 18 DJ Lamance

Lap Leaders: Daggett 1-25