# Jim Borden

We are sad to report that Hartford Motor Speedway owner Jim Borden passed away this morning. Our thoughts and prayers are with Jim's family and friends.

#### Long Wins Earl Gaerte Classic



Darren Long. - Gary Gasper Photo

Plymouth, IN – (May 18, 2013) – In front of a very supportive Indiana crowd; the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP feature was picked up by Darren Long of Elida, OH who captured his first feature win of the 2013 season at Plymouth Speedway in Plymouth IN.

A field of 26 winged sprint cars signed in to be a part of the first Engine Pro Earl Gaerte Classic Presented by Fel-Pro Performance Gaskets. Long took the lead over early leader Ryan Grubaugh and held off challenges from Shane Stewart first, then multiple attempts by both Brandon Wimmer and Dustin Daggett. The eventual winner raced the rough track very aggressively and was extremely excited in the Plymouth victory lane. "I feel very privileged to be the first ever winner of this important race" stated the buckeye state racer. "I had the honors of racing for the Gaerte/Norman race team a couple years ago and enjoyed my time with the entire Gaerte family, so this is one of the highlight wins of my sprint car racing career said Long."

The track was hampered by a lengthy track preparation as the new larger racing surface was extremely soft and took several hours to come together. An incredible effort by the Plymouth staff, plus the support of the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt racers to finish running in the track helped in allowing the event to be completed.

Due to the delayed program, the Nitro Black Dash was scratched and the Engine Pro redraw was completed in the pit area.

The top five finishers of the evening for the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP feature were-Long, Daggett, Wimmer, Patrick, and Sauder. Heat race wins were captured by Wimmer, Long, Stewart, and Grubaugh, the B main went to Kevin Roberts Jr.

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Results-Saturday May 18, 2013 Plymouth Speedway–Plymouth, IN Car Count 26 (DNS 49 Shaun Dancer, 17 Jared Hortsman)

Heat Races (Top 16 in passing points transfer to the "A" Feature) Hoosier Racing Tire Heat Race #1 (8 laps):1. 9w Brandon Wimmer, 2. 27 Beau Stewart, 3. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 4. 7k Chad Blonde, 5. 22r Kevin Roberts Sr., 6. 10j Chris Jones. Allstar Performance/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 7 Darren Long, 2. 33k Kyle Patrick, 3. 2 Kyle Sauder, 4. 12 Nick Roberts, 5. 31 Andy Teunessen, 6. 4 Eric Smith. Speed Pro Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 3G Shane Stewart, 2. 2m Dustin Daggett, 3. 16c Greg Wheeler, 4. 19 Brett Mann, 5. 07x Dain Naida, 6. 23g Joe Geibe ARP Fasteners Heat Race #4 (8 Laps): 1. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 2. 20a Andy Chehowski, 3. 11 Trey Smith, 4. 46 Robert Huisken, 5.
77 Zane Default, 6. 70 Jim Lingar.
Engine Pro B Main (top 4 transfer) 1. 22r Kevin Roberts Sr.,
2. 31 Andy Teunessen, 3. 10j Chris Jones, 4. 23g Joe Geibe, 5.
77 Zane Default, 6. 70 Jim Lingar, 7. 4 Eric Smith, 8. 19
Brett Mann.

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP "A" Feature "A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 7 Darren Long, 2. 2m Dustin Daggett, 3. 9w Brandon Wimmer, 4. 33k Kyle Patrick, 5. 2 Kyle Sauder, 6. 27 Beau Stewart, 7. 07x Dain Naida, 8. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 9. 20a Andy Chehowski, 10. 22r Kevin Roberts Sr., 11. 46 Robert Huisken, 12. 16c Greg Wheeler, 13. 10j Chris Jones, 14. 12 Nick Roberts, 15. 11 Trey Smith, 16. 23g Joe Geibe, 17. 31 Andy Teunessen, 18. 3g Shane Stewart, 19. 00 Ryan Grubaugh. DNS 7k Chad Blonde.

Engine Pro Lucky Dog-No Winner

### Grubaugh Wins at Tri-City



Ryan Grubaugh with this crew in victory lane. – Jennifer Peterson Photo

Auburn, MI – (May 17, 2013) – In front of an enthuiastic crowd in Auburn, Michigan; the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented

by ARP feature was picked up by Ryan Grubaugh of St Johns,MI who captured his first feature win of the 2013 season .

A field of 22 winged sprint cars signed in on a wet and gray day. Grubaugh took advantage of a wide, racy track surface and made use of the traction on the highside of the oval and made his pass for the lead and eventual victory on lap five of the 25 lap main event. The 2010 SOD Champion took the lead from Gregg Dalman, who settled for third after an early lead, Brett Mann captured second. A first lap accident involving Steve Irwin, Dustin Daggett and Nate Bostrum was one of the three cautions at the beginning of the feature. Daggett flipped, totaling his car, all racers were fine, however all were done for the evening.

Grubaugh stated: "We had the car set up for the high side all night and it obviously paid off, I have to thank my family, crew and fine sponsors for making this all possible." A early evening rain shower delayed racing action at the 3/8 mile oval, a tremendous thanks must go out to Steve Puvalowski and his entire staff for working the track back in and getting in all of the scheduled races. Due to the rain delayed program, the Nitro Black Dash was scratched and the Engine Pro redraw was completed in the pit area.

The top five finishers of the evening for the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP feature were—Grubaugh, Mann, Dalman, Wheeler, and Love.

In the special Tri City Motor Speedway Fastest Car qualifying session it was Steve Irwin of Fenton, MI setting the new record at 11.136, a full six tenths of a second lower than the old record. A total of eight drivers broke the existing track record set last August.

Heat race wins were captured by Robert Huisken, Brett Mann, and Gregg Dalman.

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Results-

Friday May 17, 2013

Tri City Motor Speedway—Auburn, MI Car Count 22

Heat Races (Top 16 in passing points transfer to the "A" Feature)

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat Race #1 (8 laps): 1. 46 Robert Huisken, 2. 16c Greg Wheeler, 3. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 4. 36 Nate Bostrum, 5. 8 Tim Champlin, 6. 31 Andy Teunessen, 7. 20a Andy Chehowski.

Allstar Performance/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 19 Brett Mann, 2. 0 Steve Irwin, 3. 2m Dustin Daggett, 4. 77 Keith Love, 5. 21 Kirk Chaney, 6. 4 Eric Smith, 7. 10s Jay Steinbach

Speed Pro Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 49t Gregg Dalman, 2. 23g Joe Geibe, 3. 3w Ryan Grubaugh, 4. 81 John Gall, 5. 89 Chris Pobanz, 6. 70 Jim Lingar, 7. 22t Tank Brakenberry, DNS 2t Ralph Brakenberry

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP "A" Feature "A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 3w Ryan Grubaugh, 2. 19 Brett Mann, 3. 49t Gregg Dalman, 4. 16c Greg Wheeler, 5. 77 Keith Love, 6. 21 Kirk Chaney, 7. 46 Robert Huisken, 8. 31 Andy Teunessen, 9. 10s Jay Steinbach, 10. 8 Tim Champlin, 11. 81 John Gall, 12. 89 Chris Pobanz, 13. 22 Tank Brakenberry, 14. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 15. 70 Jim Lingar, 16. 4 Eric Smith, 17. 23g Joe Geibe, 18. 2m Dustin Daggett, 19. 0 Steve Irwin, 20. 36 Nate Bostrom.

Engine Pro Lucky Dog-Ryan Ruhl

# SOD Drivers Will Try to Beat the Record Friday at Tri-City

This Friday the Tri City Motor Speedway will be offering up a cash prize to the fastest driver at Tri City. The current track record set by Gregg Dalman last August at 11.728. The fastest of the fast will earn \$150 from Tri City, if the driver happens to break the 11.728 mark an additional \$100 will go to this record breaking racer!

Make sure to get to the track early so to not miss seeing history set once again with the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt!

# Attention Teams: Tri-City Note for Haulers

The 8 Mile Road entrance will not be open until all the race car haulers are through registration. Use the Wheeler Road entrance and line-up double file on the main driveway going to the pit entrance. We have to do this in order to keep 8 Mile Road open for traffic.