Daggett Leads Wire to Wire for Crystal Victory

By T.J. Buffenbarger



Crystal, MI – (September 1, 2012) – Dustin Daggett took advantage of a complete restart that put him on the front row to win Saturday night's Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP feature Saturday night at Crystal Motor Speedway. Daggett led all 25-laps in the Mott Motorsports owned entry.

The two drivers that raced for the win one year ago on Labor Day weekend at Crystal, Andy Teunessen and Davey Brown, started on the front row. After a raged start Brown and Jared Horstman made contact with Brown spinning to the infield with suspension damage and Horstman suffering a flat left rear tire. Horstman was able to change the tire while Brown retired pit side. Tuenessen was also penalized one row for jumping the start, putting Daggett and ASCS SOD point leader Gregg Dalman on the front row. Daggett pulled away at the start with Dalman and Ryan Ruhl keeping pace.

On lap four Greg Wheeler brought out the caution flag when he slid off the track in turn four. During the restart Daggett and Dalman pulled away from the rest of the field. Just as the lead duo started to catch up to slower cars Joe Geibe spun in turn four.

With one lap car between first and second, Daggett opened up a half straighaway lead over Dalman. By lap 21 Daggett entered heavy slower traffic and Dalman began to close. Daggett was able to negotiate the slower cars and motored to the win over Dalman, Ruhl, Ryan Grubaugh, and Brett Mann.

Grubaugh, Horstman, and Mann won heat race events. Troy Chehowski won the dash while Wheeler won the "B" feature.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Crystal Motor Speedway – Crystal, MI Saturday September 1, 2012

Heat Race Events (the Top 16 finishers in passing points transferred to the "A" Feature)

Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. 00 – Ryan Grubaugh, 2. 49t – Gregg Dalman, 3. 89 – Chris Pobanz, 4. 21t – Troy Chehowski, 5. 10s – Jay Steinbach, 6. 16c – Greg Wheeler, 7. 22t – Tank Brackenberry, 8. 70 - Jim Lingar, 9. 18 - D.J. Lamont.

Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 17 – Jared Horstman, 2. 2M – Dustin Daggett, 3. 10x – Davey Brown, 4. 31 – Andy Teunessen, 5. 88 – Mike Daggett, 6. 46 – Robert Huisken, 7. 81L – Keith Love, 8. 21 – Matt Lumbert, 9. 4 – Eric Smith.

Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 14 - Brett Mann, 2. 16 - Ryan Ruhl, 3. 49 - Shawn Dancer, 4. 1 - Steve Irwin, 5. 2G - Joe Geibe, 6. 36 - Nate Bostrum, 7. 20A - Andy Chehowski, 8. 6 - Don Bostrum. DNS: 2T - Ralph Brakenberry

Dash (4 Laps): 1. 21T - Troy Chehowski, 2. 49 - Shawn Dancer, 3. 88 - Mike Daggett, 4. 89 - Chris Pobanz (Finish determined starting positions 9-12 in the "A" Feature)

"B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 16c – Greg Wheeler, 2. 46 – Robert Huisken, 3. 20A – Andy Chehowski, 4. 81L – Keith Love, 5. 22T – Tank Brackenberry, 6. 70 Jim Lingar, 8. 21 – Matt Lumbert. DNS: 6 – Don Bostrum, 4 – Eric Smith, 2T – Ralph Brackenberry (First four finishers transferred to the "A" Feature)

"A" Feature (25-Laps): 1. 2M — Dustin Daggett, 2. 49t — Gregg Dalman, 3. 16 — Ryan Ruhl, 4. 00 — Ryan Grubaugh, 5. 14 — Brett Mann, 6. 49 — Shawn Dancer, 7. 31 — Andy Teunessen, 8. 17 — Jared Horstman, 9. 21t — Troy Chehowski, 10. 1 — Steve Irwin, 11. 10S — Jay Steinbach, 12. 36 — Nate Brostrum, 13. 46 — Robert Huisken, 14. 88 — Mike Daggett, 15. 16c — Greg Wheeler, 16. 20A — Andy Chehowski, 17. 2G — Joe Geibe, 18. 89 — Chris Pobanz, 19. 81L — Keith Love, 20. 10x — Davey Brown.

Lap Leaders: Daggett 1-25