Mann Takes the Cash at Merritt



Brett Mann with his crew in victory lane. - Jennifer Peterson Photo

Mike Stevel — Lake City, Michigan (June 30, 2012) In the return to Merritt Speedway after several years absence Brett Mann took the checkers at Rick Ancel's Merritt Speedway. The Goshen, IN driver took the lead on lap 23 and captured the \$1,200 first place prize in front of a standing room only crowd.

A great field of 26 cars checked into the pits at Merritt Saturday afternoon and the northern Michigan crowd were not disappointed with the incredible open wheel action. With the track in incredible condition track speeds were record breaking and action was nonstop on the fast 3/8 mile oval.

Long time leader Gregg Dalman was using a strategy of running the bottom of the track and made Mann use the high line if he was going to complete the pass for the lead.

After an incredible side by side battle for six laps, the only caution of the feature was thrown on lap 22 for the spinning car of Greg Wheeler which came just after Mann had taken the lead.

With scoring reverting back to the last completed lap Dalman

retained the lead and after the restart with only three laps to go Mann wasn't wasting any time as he passed for the lead and eventual victory on lap 23.

The driver of the Ford powered, Jim Wohfiel owned car was quoted as saying "The high side was really working tonight and the Ford power was incredible." The Indiana driver thanked his hard working crew, Hoosier tire and his supportive family for making it all possible.

The top five finishers were- Mann, Dalman, Ryan Grubaugh, Dustin Daggett and Ryan Ruhl.

Taking heat victories was taken by Grubaugh, Chris Ackland, Dalman and Daggett. The b main was won by Darren Long and the Brodix heads dash went to Steve Irwin. The Engine Pro Lucky Dog was captured by Ryan Ruhl.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Merritt Speedway — Lake City, Michigan June 30, 2012

Car Count (26)

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 00-Ryan Grubaugh; 2. 3w-Brett Mann; 3. 16c-Greg Wheeler; 4. 10s-Jay Steinbach; 5. 36-Nate Bostrum; 6. 29s-Marques Huffer; 7. 4s-Eric Smith

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 11w-Chris Ackland; 2. 4-Josh Turner; 3. 20A-Andy Chehowski; 4. 2t-Ralph Brackenberry; 5. 21-Matt Lumbert; 6. 6-Don Bostrum; 7. 22t-Tank Brackenberry

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 49t-Gregg Dalman; 2. 10-Steve Irwin; 3. 17-Jared Horstman; 4. 16-Ryan Ruhl; 5. 31-Andy Teunessen; 6. 7-Darren Long

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 2md-Dustin Daggett; 2. 14-Gary Fast; 3. 8-Tim Champlin; 4. 2g-Joe Geibe; 5. 46-Robert Huisken; 6. 70-Jim Lingar

Dash (4 Laps): 1. 10-Steve Irwin; 2. 17-Jared Horstman; 3. 20A-Andy Chehowski; 4. 8-Tim Champlin

B Feature (10 Laps): 1. 7-Darren Long; 2. 10s-Jay Steinbach; 3. 46-Robert Huisken; 4. 21-Matt Lumbert; 5. 29s-Marques Huffer; 6. 6-Don Bostrum; 7. 70-Jim Lingar; 8. 4s-Eric Smith; 9. 22t-Tank Brackenberry; 10. 2g-Joe Geibe

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 3w-Brett Mann; 2. 49t-Gregg Dalman; 3. 00-Ryan Grubaugh; 4. 2md-Dustin Daggett; 5. 16-Ryan Ruhl; 6. 7-Darren Long; 7. 4-Josh Turner; 8. 10-Steve Irwin; 9. 14-Gary Fast; 10. 17-Jared Horstman; 11. 20A-Andy Chehowski; 12. 11w-Chris Ackland; 13. 16c-Greg Wheeler; 14. 31-Andy Teunessen; 15. 46-Robert Huisken; 16. 8-Tim Champlin; 17. 10s-Jay Steinbach; 18. 21-Matt Lumbert; 19. 36-Nate Bostrum; 20. 2t-Ralph Brackenberry

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com.