Daggett Digs Up ASCS SOD Win at Winston!

From Mike Strevel

ROTHBURY, Mich. (July 29, 2011) – In front of a capacity crowd at Winston Speedway, Dustin Daggett of Grand Ledge, MI, picked up his sixth feature win of the 2011 ASCS Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP season.

The Renegade Race Fuels sponsored feature event went green to checkered, the fourth time this year that an ASCS SOD feature event has gone uninterrupted by a caution flag.

The fifth-starting Daggett had to fight his way to the front, fighting for position with early leader Andy Teunnesen and Joe Bares. It was near the half way point of the feature that the winningest driver in ASCS SOD took the lead and dominated the remainder of the feature. A late charge by Brett Mann made things interesting, but there was no denying the driver of the Mott Motorsports 2m.

The top five in the MAHLE/Clevite short track challenge event were Daggett, Mann, Ryan Ruhl, Bares and Teunnesen.

Taking heat victories were Daggett and Mann. The Gaerte Engines Dash went to Matt Lumbert and a special Australian pursuit race went to Daggett. This victory also qualified Daggett for the Oshweken Shootout at Oshweken Speedway on September 16, 2011.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Results-Friday July 29, 2011 Winston Speedway- Rothbury, MI

Car Count (13)

Heat Races (Top 16 in passing points transfer to the "A"

Feature)

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 laps): 1.2m Dustin Daggett, 2. 91 Joe Bares, 3.31 Andy Teunnesen, 4. 10 Davey Brown, 5. 14 Mike Daggett, 6. 29s Marques Huffer.

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 19s Brett Mann, 2. 46 Robert Huisken, 3. 3w Ryan Ruhl, 4. 70 Jim Lingar, 5. 89 Chris Pobanz, 6. 21 Matt Lumbert, 7. 06 Don Bostrum. Gaerte Engines Fast Car Dash (4 Laps): 1. 21 Matt Lumbert, 2. 89 Chris Pobanz, 3. 14 Mike Daggett, 4. 29s Marques Huffer.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP "A" Feature

"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2m Dustin Daggett, 2. 19s Brett Mann, 3. 3w Ryan Ruhl, 4. 91 Joe Bares, 5. 31 Andy Teunnesen,
6. 89 Chris Pobanz, 7. 46 Robert Huisken, 8. 14 Mike Daggett,
9. 70 Jim Lingar, 10. 21 Matt Lumbert, 11. 29s Marques Huffer,
12. 06 Don Bostrum, 13. 10 Davey Brown.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Points (Top Ten): 1. Dustin Daggett 1,412, 2. Brett Mann 1,158, 3. Robert Huisken 1,077, 4. Ryan Grubaugh 1,007, 5. Davey Brown 1,002, 6. Jim Lingar 963, 7. Matt Lumbert 948, 8. Ryan Ruhl 891, 9. Joe Bares 866, 10. Marques Huffer 860.