## Daggett Survives to Win ASCS SOD Feature at Crystal

By T.J. Buffenbarger

Crystal, MI. – (Saturday August 4th, 2010) – Dustin Daggett likely has never been happier to start on the pole position than he was for Saturday night's Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP feature event at Crystal Motor Speedway. Daggett's starting position helped him avoid two large opening lap crashes, one that involved 11 cars with multiple cars getting upside down, and motored to victory in the Mott Motorsports car.

Daggett and Jared Horstman started on the front row for the 25-lap feature. During the first attempt to start the feature Darren Long turned into the front stretch wall and took a while series of end over end flips in front of a majority of the field, landing on top of Keith Love's car. Both Long and Love emerged from their cars uninjured. Joe Bares also caught shrapnel from the incident and went pit side to change a right rear tire.

The second attempt to start the feature only made it to the first corner when Mike Daggett and Aaron Shaffer got together and a pile up ensued that collected more than half of the remaining field with at least four cars getting upside down including Mike Daggett, Brett Mann, Ben Rutan, and Jim Goetgeluck. Davey Brown, Andy Teunessen, Tim Champlin, Kirk Cheney point leader Ryan Gruaugh were also involved. Cheney, Bares, Teunessen Shaffer and Grubaugh were able to restart, Grubaugh only turning one lap before going pit side.

Once the race finally restarted Daggett motored away from the rest of the field. Gregg Dalman moved past Horstman to take the second spot, but was unable to catch Daggett. Dalman, Horstman, Robert Huisken, and Mike Burkin rounded out the top five.

Rutan, Mike Daggett, Horstman, and Dustin Daggett won heat race events, Rutan won the dash, and Grubaugh won the B-Main event.

Jim Lingar and Marques Huffer flipped in separate incidents during the B-Main. Both drivers were uninjured.

Even though Grubaugh turned a lap after the big crash, Gregg Dalman cut Grubaugh's overall point lead to 13 points. The second lap pile up also affected the outcome for the MAHLE/Clevite Short Track Challenge title as Davey Brown was unable to make repairs in time to restart, handing that championship to Gregg Dalman.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Results Saturday September 5th, 2010 Crystal Motor Speedway – Crystal, MI

Heat Races (Top 16 in passing points transfer to the "A" Feature)

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. 23 – Ben Rutan, 2.3g – Darren Long, 3. 22 – Aaron Shaffer, 4. 8 – Tim Champlin, 5. 41 – Jim Goetgeluck, 6. 14 – Ryan Davis, 7. 70 – Jim Lingar, 8. 2t – Ralph Brakenberry

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 85 — Mike Daggett, 2. 46 — Robert Huisken, 3. 19 — Brett Mann, 4. 11 — Trey Smith, 5. 3w — Ryan Grubaugh, 6. 187 — Gavin Hunyady, 7. 22t — Tank Brakenberry, 8. 47x — Louie Carufel.

Butlerbuilt Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 17 – Jared Horstman, 2. 55 – Kirk Cheney, 3. 10x – Davey Brown, 4. 91 – Joe Bares, 5. 10s – Jay Steinbach, 6. 35 – Mark Strpko, 7. 12 – Brett Lane, 8. 1m – Mike Moore

Hoosier Tire Heat Race #4 (8 Laps): 1. 2m - Dustin Daggett, 2.

49t – Gregg Dalman, 3. 77 – Kevin Love, 4. 31 – Andy Teunessen, 5. 29s – Marques Huffer, 6. 21 – Matt Lumbert, 7. 48 – Mike Burkin, 8. 06 – Don Bostrum,

B-Main (Top four finishers transferred to the A-Main)

Engine Pro B-Main (10 Laps): 1. 3w – Ryan Grubaugh, 2. 11 – Trey Smith, 3. 187 – Gavin Hunyady, 4. 48 – Mike Burkin, 5. 12 – Brett Lane, 6. 14 – Ryan Davis, 7. 21 – Matt Lumbert, 8. 35 – Mark Strpko, 9. 1m – Mike Moore, 10. 29s – Marques Huffer, 11. 22t – Tank Brakenberry, 12. 06- Don Bostrum, 13. 10s – Jay Steinbach, 14. 70 – Jim Lingar. DNS: 47x – Louie Carufel, 2t – Ralph Brakenberry

Total Seal Fast Car Dash presented by Gaerte Engines (4 Laps): 1. 23 – Ben Rutan, 2. 19 – Brett Mann, 3. 85 – Mike Daggett, 4. 3g – Darren Long

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP "A" Main Event

"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2m - Dustin Daggett, 2. 49t - Gregg Dalman, 3. 17 - Jared Horstman, 4. 46 - Robert Huisken, 5. 48 - Mike Burkin, 6. 91 - Joe Bares, 7. 187 - Gavin Hunyady, 8. 11 - Trey Smith, 9. 55 - Kirk Cheney, 10. 31 - Andy Teunessen, 11. 22 - Aaron Shaffer, 12. 3w - Ryan Grubaugh, 13. 85 - Mike Daggett, 14. 19 - Brett Mann, 15. 23 - Ben Rutan, 16. 10x - Davey Brown, 17. 8 - Tim Champlin, 18. 41 - Jim Goetgeluck, 19. 3g - Darren Long, 20. 77 - Keith Love

Hard Charger: Burkin (+15)

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by Victor Reinz Point Standings (Top Ten):